LibGuides: Medieval and Renaissance Studies: Primary sources, facsimiles

Primary sources, facsimiles

There are MANY pages linking to primary sources and facsimiles for Medieval and Renaissance studies. Some are linked to specific institutional collections; others are national or international projects. New scans are being added often, so it is a good idea to search, but here are some collections:

Internet Medieval Sourcebook (Fordham)
Links links links tabs tabs tabs!

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Aims to provide the total surviving print record of the English speaking world for 227 years (1473-1700). Digitized from microfilm collections.
Access to EEBO's Text Creation Partnership is now available.

Aims to provide the total surviving print record of the English speaking world for 227 years (1473-1700). It is the digital version of the popular Early English Books I, Early English Books II, Thomason Tracts, and Early English Books Tract Supplements microfilm collections. The project aims to reproduce all items produced by a printing press (such as books, pamphlets, broadsides) in England and its colonies and any item that was printed anywhere in the world in English between 1473 and 1700.

In order to view the PDF documents, you will need the Acrobat Reader plugin from Adobe.

Digital Scriptorium Search
Cross-search medieval manuscript of titles from U.S. libraries and museums committed to providing cross-institutional digital access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts.
Digital Bodleian
Manuscripts, maps, printed books etc. from the Bodleian Libraries . Content digitized from collections since the early 1990s. The Digital Bodleian was and is designed to enable access to content for the widest possible audience. Includes a number of Oxford colleges and Digital Humanities projects to deliver images of their collections.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. Search more than 11 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).
HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. Search more than 11 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).
University of Texas students, faculty, and staff can download materials in the public domain in addition to conducting full text searches of all materials in the HathiTrust Catalog. UT Official Retirees and UT Extension Students are excluded from this access because of HathiTrust's strict definitions and added layer of authentication
Click the "Log In" button and choose "University of Texas at Austin" from the drop-down menu. Select "continue" and then enter your EID and password when prompted.
The HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 80 major academic and research libraries.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica This link opens in a new window
"Monumental" collection of medieval documents, including published volumes in facsimile form of the sub-series:
Scriptores (Historiographers),
Leges (Legal Texts),
Diplomata (Political Documents),
Epistolae (Correspondence),
Antiquitates (Poetry and History of Thought), along with other sub-series.
Updated annually. Provides searchable online access to primary texts in Latin from or about medieval Germany, the Franks, and areas of Germanic influence in medieval Europe. This is an ongoing digitization project of the print set by the same name with precedence given to the narrative sources.