LibGuides: Pharmacy: Databases & How to Use Them

Example topic: osteoporosis after steroid treatment of ulcerative colitis

ID the key concepts of your question, in this case—

osteoporosis

steroids

ulcerative colitis

Come up with related terms for each key concept.

Use truncation to search for terms that begin with a word root.

osteoporo*

will search for

osteoporosis, osteoporoses, osteoporotic, osteoporotically...

First, search each key concept separately (lines #1, #2, #3). Consult the database’s search history to see how many hits your terms produce. Big numbers are your friend. If there are too few hits for a key concept, add more synonyms or some broader terms. If there are too many hits, remove terms and/or use narrower terms.

Then combine search lines, as shown (lines #4, #5).

Using the service will show you options for getting an article--either online, in print, or via InterLibrary Loan.

Recommended Databases

Scientific Literature

PubMed This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status.

Set up LibKey Nomad to find access through the UT Libraries subscriptions and purchases.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1937 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes indexing for more than 5,100 journals with coverage as far back as 1937 and full text coverage for more than 700 journals. In addition to journals, includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1865 - present. Unlimited users.

Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

Full-text News Sources

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. 9 users.
Updated daily. A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.
This database was formerly called Dow Jones Interactive.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

ID Journals that Publish Peer-Reviewed Articles

Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Most current file. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published in the United States and throughout the world. Includes contact information for over 80,000 publishers.

Drug Information

Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
Full database access. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A drug information application that provides peer reviewed, clinically-relevant information on drugs available in the United States, including off-label uses and dosages, herbal supplements, nutritional products, and new and investigational drugs. Features include drug interaction reports and drug identification searching.
Access to this resource is funded by the College of Pharmacy.
UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users. Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Firefox, and Safari.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to point-of-care information from 13 clinical databases and 4 clinical applications. Databases include Lexi-Drugs, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs, and Geriatric Lexi-Drugs as well as Clinician's Guides to Diagnosis, Internal Medicine and Laboratory Medicine. Clinical Applications include drug interactions, tablet & capsule identification, medical calculations and patient advisory leaflets.

Micromedex

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Most recent edition. Unlimited users.

Updated regularly. Provides an online curricular resource for pharmacy education. Allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across over 20 pharmacy and medical online references. Includes functional calculators, lab test information, and an integrated drug database.
Users will need to create a free personal account to access the self-assessment tools, create cases & my care plans, and save images. To create a free account, click on the "My Profile" drop-down menu in the upper right corner of the Access Pharmacy home page. Click "Login or Create a Free Personal Account." At the bottom of the pop-up window, click on "Create a Free Access Profile" and follow the directions to set up your account.
MedicinesComplete This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Provides access to the following drug and healthcare references:
- Pharmaceutical Excipients
NATMED PRO This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Provides high quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.
PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
A personal account is required to access the NAPLEX and other Active Learning Exercises.
To create a personal account (you don’t have to be an APhA member), follow these instructions:
- If you are ON campus, register for a personal account by clicking on PharmacyLibrary above. On the next page, click Login | Register and then select Individual Login | Register.
- If you are OFF campus, register for a personal account by accessing PharmacyLibrary through this link: https://pharmacylibrary.com. Click Login | Register and then select Individual Login | Register. Once you’ve created a personal account, resume accessing the database by clicking on PharmacyLibrary above where you can login to your newly created account.
If you experience access issues, please email Lynn Bostwick and include screenshots of any access messages you get.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 25 users.
Updated regularly. Provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbook and includes Board Vitals. Stat!Ref is now part of TDS Health.
United States Pharmacopeia and the National Formulary (USP-NF) This link opens in a new window
***After clicking the database link, you will see a box with 2 login options. Click the left option to login via IP authentication.***
Requires user to create a free account
Contains pharmacopeial standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements. It is a combination of the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) with monographs for drug substances & preparations and the National Formulary (NF) with monographs for excipients. Dietary supplements and ingredients appear in a separate section of the USP.

PDR Network

The PICO Search

Ask a good clinical question by formulating your information need as a PICO search.

PICO stands for...

Patient or Population or Problem

Intervention

Comparison

Outcome

Try this type of search in PubMed, using the tool PICO Linguist (National Library of Medicine).