LibGuides: Pharmacy: Articles

Articles

PubMed This link opens in a new window
View the tutorial "Tailoring Your PubMed Search Experience" (07:47)
View: MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC--How are they different?
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status.

Set up LibKey Nomad to find access through the UT Libraries subscriptions and purchases.
Embase This link opens in a new window
1974 - present. Unlimited users.
Embase provides coverage of the biomedical literature, with over 31 million records from over 8,500 currently published journals, including over 7 million records and more than 3,000 journals that are not covered by MEDLINE. Offers extensive coverage of searchable conference abstracts dating back to 2009. It currently indexes over 6,000 conferences covering ~350,000 conference abstracts each year. Embase uses Emtree, the Elsevier Life Science thesaurus: a hierarchically structured, controlled vocabulary for biomedicine and the related life sciences. It includes a range of terms for drugs, diseases, medical devices and essential life science concepts
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides bibliographic indexing from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from 4,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries.
Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Citations are created by the National Library of Medicine, International MEDLARS partners, and cooperating professional organizations.
MEDLINE has worldwide coverage, but 88% of the citations in current MEDLINE are to English-language sources and 76% have English abstracts.
NLM provides free access to MEDLINE through PubMed.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect.

Books: Selected titles from Elsevier and its subsidiaries are included. These books are DRM-free with unlimited users and PDF chapter downloads/printing.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1937 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes indexing for more than 5,100 journals with coverage as far back as 1937 and full text coverage for more than 700 journals. In addition to journals, includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
2008 - present. Unlimited.
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov is a resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, and was launched in September 2008. Visit the How To Search section for information on using the site.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. Includes reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Provides information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including:
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews)
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
- The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
- The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews)
- Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

Click on any Pharmacology journal to view it and more in Browzine.

Click on any Pharmacy/Pharmaceutical Sciences journal to view it and more in Browzine.

PrePubMed
PrePubMed indexes preprints from arXiv q-bio, PeerJ Preprints, bioRxiv, F1000Research, preprints.org, The Winnower, Nature Precedings, and Wellcome Open Research. Articles are not stored on PrePubMed, but you will be linked to the article at the respective site.

ChemRxiv This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited
A cooperative venture of ACS, RSC, and GDCh, launched in 2017. All ChemRxiv preprints are indexed in SciFinder.
medRxiv This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
An archive for the health sciences launched in 2019.

Epistemonikos
Open access database for evidence-based clinical and health-policy decision making.
more...less...
"Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence. It is the largest source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence."
"The identification of other types of evidence [besides systematic reviews] has not been completed yet, so Epistemonikos database should not be considered a comprehensive database of broad synthesis, primary studies or structured summaries."
Databases regularly screened for articles to be indexed in Epistemonikos include Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, PubMed, EMBASE, CINAHL, PsycINFO, LILACS, DARE, Campbell Collaboration, JBI, EPPI-Centre Evidence Library.
Industry Documents Library
"A portal to millions of documents created by industries that influence public health, hosted by the UCSF Library and Center for Knowledge Management."

Related library guide

PubMed
by Lynn Bostwick Last Updated Jan 6, 2025 1392 views this year