LibGuides: Aerospace Engineering &amp; Engineering Mechanics: Research Papers, News Updates, and Journals

Finding Research Papers & Journals

Here is a list of recommended aerospace engineering and engineering mechanics databases. Coverage varies by product but most help you find research papers --- including journal articles and conference papers --- on topics of interest. See more products at the big list of Databases, where you may search by subject, type, and provider.

Which to choose?

Aerospace Database is the first choice index for the literature of aerospace engineering.
Compendex is first choice for engineering mechanics.
Academic Search Complete is a good option for both fields but does not include conference papers or technical reports.
If you are thinking of the business of engineering, think of ABI/INFORM and Business Source Complete. Also, remember the special indexes for other fields, including Medline/PubMed and Embase for medicine and PsycINFO for psychology.

Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes basic and applied research in aeronautics, and space sciences. Includes indexing of papers from journals and from conferences, plus technical reports.
Updated monthly. Includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Covering all engineering disciplines. You may also include the database Inspec in your search of Compendex.
Updated weekly. Ei Compendex indexes the research literature of the field of engineering. The product contains more than 17 million total records. Over a million new records, with abstracts, are added per year. More than 3,600 journals and 4,100 conference publications and trade magazines are currently indexed. Customizable e-mail or RSS alerts are available.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
One of our favorites. Good coverage for engineering and across disciplines. Does not include conference papers or technical reports.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's index to the literature of business, including popular and research materials.
Updated monthly. A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.

Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.

Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
For the literature of business, indexing both popular and research materials. Uses the ProQuest interface.
Updated daily. In-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Primary index to the research literature of physics; electrical engineering; and computer and control engineering. May also be searched simultaneously with Compendex.
Updated weekly. Indexes the research literature of physics; electrical engineering and electronics; & computers and control. Offers over 15 million records and strong international coverage. The archive portion, which was formerly separate, is now integrated with the current file.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature of science and technology across disciplines.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

News Sources

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Important for providing the text of articles from newspapers and other news sources.
Updated daily. A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.
This database was formerly called Dow Jones Interactive.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides the text of news and legal sources.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Collections of Papers from Societies

These databases are valuable sources and are satisfying for their full-text content but be aware that each indexes publications from one society or from a small group of societies. You will also want to search using an indexing tool with more comprehensive coverage:

Aerospace Research Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text access for AIAA journals and meeting papers.
Updated regularly. Provides a searchable interface to the Institute's publications, covering all aspects of aerospace. Full-text access for AIAA journals and Meeting Papers, since the start of the society in 1963.
The AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics) publishes approximately 4000 papers, presented at 20 conferences, each year. The online version of the meeting papers allows access to full-text scanned images; browsing by author, title, and conference.
ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital Library (Current) This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides online access to all available volumes of the technical journals of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), the complete set of ASME conference papers starting with 2002, and many older ASME conference papers.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE (and some IET) research papers.
Updated daily. Provides full-text access to IEEE and IET (formerly IEE) journal articles and conference proceedings. Also includes IEEE technical standards and conference proceedings from VDE Verlag. Coverage is the research literature of electrical and computer engineering, electronics, computer science, aerospace engineering, biomedical engineering, and transportation. Contains over three million records, with some content back to 1872. Also contains indexing from partner groups.
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
Papers of the Society of Automotive Engineers.
Updated regularly. Providing resources on technologies related to the automotive, aerospace, and commercial vehicle industries. Including:
- SAE Technical papers, 1906+
- SAE Journals, 2008+
- SAE Magazines, 2023+
- SAE E-Books, 1990+
- SAE Standards, current version
- Ground vehicle
- Aerospace
- Aerospace Material Specifications

Technical reports, including NASA reports, can be important sources of information. For help in finding them, see the Technical Reports Guide.

If you don't see a PDF or HTML link, connecting you to the full article, click the "Find it at UT" button to see if the article is available in another database or in print in one of the UT Libraries.

If it's only available in print or you can't see how to otherwise obtain a copy, go to "Get a Scan" and complete a request form.

Find Journals

To see if we have a particular journal (i.e. Nature, ENR), either in print or electronic format, use the J ournals search.

Journal Collections

Engineering Societies: see the print and full text holding for more than a dozen key engineering societies such as AIAA, ASCE, ASME, IEEE, SAE, SPE, SPIE and more!