Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

UT Poetry Center

Featured Small Press of the Month

Featured Small Press of the Month

Throughout 2024, the UT Poetry Center will display books from small poetry presses, featuring a different press each month. These presses produce high-quality books from diverse range of poets. Some are long-running, respected publishers in American poetry circles, while others are producing highly innovative, avant garde work. We'll also highlight a few presses local to Austin, which has a long history of creative poetry publication!

 

Pink flier pages of books in the background, text says Small Press of the Month for February. Futurepoem Books of New York City. The Song Cave of Brooklyn, NY.January & February: Futurepoem & the Song Cave

Futurepoem and the Song Cave are two unique small presses based in New York. Futurepoem publishes subversive, experimental collections, and the Song Cave publishes poetry along with art prints and art criticism. Both presses release books well worth exploring!

Flier with pink waves and a pink and blue header with bubble letters. Text reads: Featured Small Press of the Month: March. Host Publications. Host Publications is a long-running small press based here in Austin. Originally formed to publish high-quality, international poetry and fiction in translation, Host published works by Nobel winners Pablo Neruda and Wisława Szymborska. In 2018, the press pivoted towards publishing writers based in the United States, with a focus on fiction and poetry by people of color, LGBTQ writers, and women. Host has a well-known poetry chapbook contest for women writers, and many of the works featured here are chapbook prize winners. Host organizes literary events around town and has an excellent podcast, the Host Dispatch. See their website to learn more about the literary community they are building in Austin: https://hostpublications.com/March: Host Publications

Host Publications is a long-running small press based here in Austin. Originally formed to publish high-quality, international poetry and fiction in translation, Host published works by Nobel winners Pablo Neruda and Wisława Szymborska. In 2018, the press pivoted towards publishing writers based in the United States, with a focus on fiction and poetry by people of color, LGBTQ writers, and women. Host organizes literary events around town and has an excellent podcast, the Host Dispatch. Visit their website to learn more about the literary community they are building in Austin.

ApFlier with cream background and brown lettering, with plant stems and leaves decorating the corners. Text reads: Small Press of the Month: April. Wave Books. Wave Books is an independent poetry press based in Seattle, Washington, dedicated to publishing poetry and books by poets. Wave is known for publishing innovative writing and for its distinctive book design.ril: Wave Books

Wave Books is an independent poetry press based in Seattle, Washington, dedicated to publishing poetry and books by poets. Wave is known for publishing innovative writing and for its distinctive book design.

Flier with a pale pink/coral background and plant shapes and leaves decorating the top and bottom. Text reads: Small Press of the Month: May. Milkweed Editions. Milkweed Editions is an independent, non-profit publisher based in Minneapolis. Named for the common milkweed plant which nourishes monarch butterflies, Milkweed Editions is committed to publishing debut and experimental writers of fiction, poetry, and creative non-fiction. They focus on care in their editorial process and produce beautifully designed, well-made books, even in paperback. Poetry from Milkweed Editions often focuses on nature, the environment, and activism.May: Milkweed Editions

Milkweed Editions is an independent, non-profit publisher based in Minneapolis. Named for the common milkweed plant which nourishes monarch butterflies, Milkweed Editions is committed to publishing debut and experimental writers of fiction, poetry, and creative non-fiction. They focus on care in their editorial process and produce beautifully designed, well-made books, even in paperback. Poetry from Milkweed Editions often focuses on nature, the environment, and activism.

Flier with white background and rainbow cartoonish flowers decorating the left and right margins. The header is in bubble letters and reads: June! June! June! Small Press of the Month: Sibling Rivalry Press. Body text reads: Founded in 2010 in Arkansas, Sibling Rivalry Press champions LGBTQ+ authors and artists. Inspired by Adrienne Rich’s call for more poetry that “can disturb and enrapture,” Sibling Rivalry is known for publishing bold and subversive work. For example, Sibling Rivalry took chances on Ocean Vuong and Saeed Jones early in their careers, and both now have large, international platforms. In honor of Pride Month, we invite you to explore these exciting collections from Sibling Rivalry!June: Sibling Rivalry Press

Founded in 2010 in Arkansas, Sibling Rivalry Press champions LGBTQ+ authors and artists. Inspired by Adrienne Rich’s call for more poetry that “can disturb and enrapture,” Sibling Rivalry is known for publishing bold and subversive work. For example, Sibling Rivalry took chances on Ocean Vuong and Saeed Jones early in their careers, and both now have large, international platforms. In honor of Pride Month, we invite you to explore these exciting collections from Sibling Rivalry!

Flier with greyish-white background and black lettering in an elegant font. Side header reads: Small Press of the Month: July. Black Ocean Books & Birds, LLC. Body text reads: For July, we’re featuring two of our favorite indie presses! Black Ocean Books, based in Boston and Chicago, is most known for poetry, but they also publish non-fiction and works in translation. Their Moon Country Korean Poetry Series brings the work of contemporary Korean poets to English-speaking audiences for the first time. Birds, LLC is a poetry press based in Minneapolis. Known for community and collaboration, they often work with unpublished poets and help launch careers. Renowned writer Tommy Pico published his first collection with Birds, LLC back in 2016. July: Black Ocean Books & Birds, LLC

For July, we’re featuring two of our favorite indie presses! Black Ocean Books, based in Boston and Chicago, is most known for poetry, but they also publish non-fiction and works in translation. Their Moon Country Korean Poetry Series brings the work of contemporary Korean poets to English-speaking audiences for the first time. Birds, LLC is a poetry press based in Minneapolis. Known for community and collaboration, they often work with unpublished poets and help launch careers. Renowned writer Tommy Pico published his first collection with Birds, LLC back in 2016.

Flier with cream colored background and blue lettering. Header reads: Coffee House Press, bordered by hand-drawn images of coffe beans. Body text reads: Founded in 1972, Coffee House Press started as a small letterpress operation. In the last 50+ years, they’ve built an international reputation for publishing poetry, literary fiction, essays, and other work. The UT Poetry Center’s collection has long held books published by Coffee House, going back to the 80s. This month’s featured selection includes Beat Poet Anne Waldman, Native American author & editor Allison Hedge Coke, and exciting contemporary poets like Saeed Jones and Hieu Minh Nguyen. Bottom of fleir is decorated with brown starburst design that reads: Press of the Month, and a talk bubble that reads: August. Two small hand-drawn images of lattes decorate the bottom corners. August: Coffee House Press

Founded in 1972, Coffee House Press started as a small letterpress operation. In the last 50+ years, they’ve built an international reputation for publishing poetry, literary fiction, essays, and other work. The UT Poetry Center's collection has long held books published by Coffee House, going back to the 80s. August's featured selection of books includes Beat Poet Anne Waldman, Native American author & editor Allison Hedge Coke, and exciting contemporary poets like Saeed Jones and Hieu Minh Nguyen.

 

September: Nightboat BooksFlier with dark navy blue background and images of nightsky constellations in the uppder half. The header is in the middle of the page in yellow letter and reads: Nightboat Books. The body text reads: Founded in 2004 and based in New York, nonprofit publisher Nightboat Books seeks to develop audiences for writers whose work resists convention and transcends boundaries. The name Nightboat signifies travel, passage, and possibility—of mind and body, and of language. Their goal is to shed enough light, so the writer and reader can find one another. With these selections, we hope you will find your way to an illuminating new read. The bottom includes small headers that read: September, Press of the Month.

Founded in 2004 and based in New York, nonprofit publisher Nightboat Books seeks to develop audiences for writers whose work resists convention and transcends boundaries. The name Nightboat signifies travel, passage, and possibility—of mind and body, and of language. Their goal is to shed enough light, so the writer and reader can find one another. With these selections, we hope you will find your way to an illuminating new read.

Subjects: English Literature

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.