LibGuides: Design: Patents

Where to Search (Databases & more)

USPTO: 2 databases: one for granted patents and the other for applications.

PatFT: Patents (Full-Text from 1976)
AppFT: Applications (Published since March 2001)

Websites (many options!):

Google Patent Search
Patent Lens
PatentScope – WIPO
Patents.com
FreePatentsOnline.com
Patent Information Users Group - PIUG - lists dozens of patent analysis, mapping, and visualization tools

Major Patent Offices:

Specialty Websites:

DNA Patent Database
Doepatents – Department of Energy

Current UT-Austin students, faculty and staff can search SciFinder from any computer that has a properly configured web browser and that is connected to or proxied through the campus network. For more information, visit the SciFinder information page.

SciFinder This link opens in a new window
chemistry, chemical engineering, pharmacy, etc.
Updated daily. Requires users to register with a utexas.edu email account. Provides integrated access to the Chemical Abstracts suite of databases with millions of bibliographic records covering the worldwide chemical literature, including patents; as well as over 100 million substance records, with chemical structures, names, synonyms, and associated property data; plus millions of searchable organic reactions. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, Registry Numbers), and chemical structures.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
“Company Information”
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Effective January 1, 2018, Nexis Uni™ replaces LexisNexis Academic.

INSPEC, created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), is one of the world's most definitive bibliographic scientific databases, containing 15+ million records.

INSPEC This link opens in a new window
physics, computing, engineering, information technology, manufacturing
Updated weekly. Indexes the research literature of physics; electrical engineering and electronics; & computers and control. Offers over 15 million records and strong international coverage. The archive portion, which was formerly separate, is now integrated with the current file.

For more information see this UT LibGuide

Patents, Trademarks, and Copyright