LibGuides: Faculty Resources: Resources to Support Research

Search our Collections

Library Databases: over 800 databases containing articles, dissertations, books, essays, chapters, primary sources, streaming video, streaming audio, standards, conference proceedings and more. Filter databases by title, type and subject.
Library Catalog : search the holdings of all branches of the UT Libraries. Includes access to some electronic content, including ebooks and electronic journals, and some of the holdings of the Briscoe Center and the Harry Ransom Center. Sign in with your UTEID for access options.
Main search box: search across the majority of the UT Libraries collections including content from the Library Catalog, Library Databases and the institutional repository. This is the main search box on the Libraries home page. Sign in with your UTEID for access options.
GoogleScholar: Use GoogleScholar to search across many of the UT Libraries holdings. This guide provides options for searching off campus and connecting to the Libraries subscription resources.
Texas ScholarWorks: search the University's online repository to find open, online access to the products of the University's research and scholarship.
Texas GeoData Portal: explore geospatial data from UT-Austin and beyond.
UT Libraries Collections Portal: Access digitized and born-digital items from our collections. Includes items from the Benson Latin American Collection, Alexander Architectural Archive and Architecture & Planning Library, PCL Maps collection and more.

Scholar Services

Scholarly Communication

Scholarly Communication Services : Find resources and expertise to support the scholarly publication process including copyright, author rights and open scholarship.
Copyright Crash Course: This online course covers copyright and links to other resources related to Fair Use, Public Domain and Creative Commons
Open Access at UT Austin: Learn about open access opportunities on campus and open memberships.

Data

Research Data Services: Resources and services that include GIS services, help preparing data management plans and assistance with the DMPTool, organizing and curating data, and preserving and sharing it through portals such as the Texas Data Repository.
Guides for finding specialized data: Social Sciences Data, STEM Data, Geospatial Data, Humanities Data.
Data Lab in the PCL Scholars Commons: The Data Lab provides specialized software for digital scholarship, including NVivo, R, OpenRefine, SPSS and Stata.
Data Lab in the PCL Scholars Lab: Monitor the Scholars Lab LibGuide for details about this brand new resources and related serivces.
Data & Donuts Workshops: Workshops held fall and spring terms. Find the current schedule and resources from past workshops.

Digital Humanities

Digital Humanities Tools & Resources: An introduction to DH tools, resources and campus activities.
Digital Humanities Workshops: Workshops held fall and spring terms. Find the current schedule and resources from past workshops.
Digital Scholars in Practice: A lecture series that features the work of faculty and student digital scholars.

Other Services/Resources

Citation Management: A guide with information and support for citation managers for research organization.
Find Funding: A guide to finding funding, including PIVOT, a database of funding opportunities with access provided by the UT Libraries.
Systematic Reviews: A guide to conducting systematic reviews.

Promotion and Tenure

Publishing for Access and Impact
Information about how to choose journals in which to publish, increase access to your work, and track your impact. Includes information about journal metrics, predatory publishers, alt-metrics and ORCID.
Liaison Librarians
Find your subject liaison librarian for information about publishing in your field and preparing your promotion & tenure dossier.

About our Collections

Collections Overview
The University of Texas Libraries is one of the largest research libraries in the world. We collect resources across disciplines and in a variety of formats to support research, teaching and learning.

Research Support

Subject and Topic Guides
Find subject guides for research in your discipline and topic guides for finding materials by format, citing sources and more.
Liaison Librarian Directory by Subject
Your liaison librarian has content expertise in your discipline and can support your research and teaching. Click on your discipline for librarian contact information.

Access Resources

Interlibrary Loan: Request the loan of an item not owned by the UT Libraries. Articles and book chapters are often scanned and emailed.

Get a Scan: look for this link in the library catalog to request scans of materials from the UT Libraries.

Pick it Up: Look for this link in the library catalog to request an item checked out to someone else, or to have an item transferred to a different campus library and held for you to pick up.

Find it @UT | : When searching databases,look for a Find it @UT link or button to find the full text of an item online, if available.

Suggest a Purchase: Request a purchase for our collection.

Borrowing Priveleges for Spouses/Domestic Partners: your spouse/domestic partner may borrow items from the UT Libraries.

New York TImes Online

New York Times Online Access
Includes news, cooking, athletics, sports, the archives back to 1851, Spanish, Chinese and International editions and more.