LibGuides: UGS 302: Latinx Males in K-12 and Higher Education / Campos: Develop your research topic

Choosing and Developing a Research Topic

This is sometimes the most challenging and exhausting part of the research process - you are just beginning to learn about this topic area. Being unfamiliar with the terrain means you have to wander around a lot and pick up clues where you can find them. Here are some suggestions.

These are considered tertiary sources.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia articles across topics.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files. A list of sources included in our subscription is available.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This database has a lot of info types that are well labeled. It is unique for its viewpoint essays which are great jumping off points to discover what people are arguing about.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to differing points of view on current social issues. Brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia articles with a focus on the behavioral and social sciences.
Platform for Sage eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Only select ebook titles purchased by the UT Libraries are fully accessible.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide