Research Strategy - Searching - UGS 302: Latinx Males in K-12 and Higher Education / Campos - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Keywords and search tips

Your background research in encyclopedias, etc. will help you discover:

The screenshot below has a sample search.

Separate search terms on lines so as not to search by phrases and so you can use OR
OR between keywords allows you to broaden and make flexible your search. You can search many terms at once, but only one needs to be in the result for it to show up.
Decide what type of info you want - data found in reports, or research and analysis found in books and articles?
Currency can help your narrow to more recent articles.
Open this image in a new tab so you can see it bigger.

Test the following keywords to find testimonios (which are not always called that in our databases):

Experiences

Ethnography

Statement

Witness

First person

Written account

Affirmation

Student experiences

Narrative

Autobiography

Interview

Memoir

Oral history

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Results for testimonios
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
results for testimonios
Updated regularly. Contains citations with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Covers books, book reviews, journals and dissertations. Also reviews films and video projects. The database corresponds to the print America: History and Life, which is produced by ABC-CLIO. The database covers history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
results for testimonios
Updated quarterly. Contains records for all types of material on Mexican-American topics and Chicanos. Since 1992, the Chicano Database covers material on the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.