LibGuides: UGS 302: Latinx Males in K-12 and Higher Education / Campos: Find Sources

What evidence do you need?

What kind of evidence would you find most convincing for a claim or argument? Use the tabs above to decide.

Remember that each type of information should be evaluated based upon its purpose, audience and author.

"Statistics borrow from mathematics an air of precision and certainty but also call on human judgment and so are subject to bias and imprecision." From Making Sense of Statistics

Statistics, Demographics and Public Opinion Polls
This guide has an in introduction to these various data types as well as a list of resources to search.
Ed Data Express
Explore primary and secondary education stats.
National Center for Education Statistics
Allows you to break down by various assessment types and includes higher ed.
Texas Higher Education Data
University of Texas Statistical Handbook
UT Specific stats form 1980 to present
Census Data
Will data about a community or the US help?

Find journal articles, books and more by experts in the field of educational and other social scientific research.

ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in education research.
Updated monthly. Provides a digital library of education-related resources. Contains over 1.1 million citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
Also includes more than 107,000 full text non-journal documents indexed by the ERIC database. Approximately one-half of the entries in the ERIC database are to ERIC documents. Microfiche copies of ERIC documents, including those prior to 1996, are in the Collections Deposit Library (CDL) Microforms Collection at MCFICHE 4913.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Includes journals as well as books. Has coverage of multilingual education scholarship as well.
"The collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
EBSCO search tutorials
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Contains records for all types of material on Mexican-American topics and Chicanos
Updated quarterly. Contains records for all types of material on Mexican-American topics and Chicanos. Since 1992, the Chicano Database covers material on the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

Use these resources to discover news, journalism and viewpoints about your topic.

Popular Magazines by Political Viewpoint
These magazines are out and proud about the direction in which they lean. It is worthwhile to search your topic on both sides of the aisle to see how it is treated.

PressReader This link opens in a new window
A newspaper database.
Updated daily. Provides a full-color and full-page collection of newspapers from around the world,. Includes over 1000 titles from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States. A 60-day archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Once inside the newspaper, click on a headline to read the article or zoom in to read the article as it appears in print.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Magazines, some newspapers.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.