TARO (Texas Archival Resources Online) contains finding aids with descriptions of the archival holdings of the Benson Latin American Collection, in addition to other materials from institutions all over Texas. You can search for names of collections, subjects, specific materials or countries that are held in our rare books and manuscripts collection.
The Benson Collections offers several archival collections that contain Indigenous language and cultural heritage materials. This list is not exhaustive:
These journals are physical copies that can be found in the Benson's collections and contain materials either in various Indigenous Languages of Latin America or on Indigenous Latin American culture more broadly:
The Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America is a digital repository dedicated to the long-term preservation of multimedia resources in and about Indigenous languages of Latin America. Over 400 Indigenous languages are represented in the archive, and new collection materials are added regularly.
The relaciones contain historical, cultural, and geographical information on New Spain and its peoples during the 16th century and before the Conquest. 26 relaciones are accompanied by one or more maps, known as pinturas.
Three 16th century documents, including a Lienzo de Tlaxcala fragment, a boundary document, and a genealogy.
This project digitized 192 deed books (libros de hijuelas) recording the state-wide privatization of Indigenous lands in 19th century Michoacán, Mexico. The vast majority of the material digitized is 19th century in origin and in manuscript form, though it includes a fair amount of cartographic information, also as well as some printed documents (laws, decrees etc). There is some older material, copies of colonial (pre-1821) documents in the main and a small amount of 20th century material running to c.1929, after which time agrarian matters were in the hands of the federal Agrarian Reform Department, not federal states. Collection hosted by the British Library's Endangered Archives Programme.
The Primeros Libros de las Américas: Impresos Americanos del Siglo XVI en las Bibliotecas del Mundo project is a digital collection of the first books printed in the Americas before 1601. These monographs are very important because they represent the first printing in the New World and provide primary sources for scholarly studies in a variety of academic fields. Of the 220 editions believed to have been produced in Mexico and 20 in Peru, approximately 155 are represented in institutions around the world. You can search by language in the side bar (for example, Aymara, Chochotec, Colonial Mixtec, Nahuatl languages, and Tzotzil) or by using the search bar to (for example, Indigenous peoples) to discover more Indigenous language and cultural heritage materials.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.