LibGuides: Indigenous Language and Cultural Materials: Databases

Databases

AILLA (The Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America) This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
A digital archive of recordings and texts in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America. Includes recordings of naturally-occurring discourse in a wide range of genres, including narratives, ceremonies, oratory, conversations, and songs. Many of these recordings are accompanied by transcriptions and translations in either Spanish, English, or Portuguese. Also collects materials about these languages, such as grammars, dictionaries, ethnographies, and research notes.
Sabin Americana This link opens in a new window
1500 - 1926. Unlimited users.
Provides over 14,000 primary source titles based on Joseph Sabin's bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana. Materials describe every aspect of life in the Western Hemisphere from 1500 to the 1890s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Searchable in a variety of ways, including: author, title, year of publication, and subject.

Archivo Digital de Lenguas Indígenas de la Amazonia is a digital language archive based at the Universidad Nacional de Colombia. It contains materials on Indigenous languages spoken in the Amazon.

Archivo Digital de Lenguas Peruanas is a digital language archive based at the Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú. It contains research and linguistic materials on Peruvian languages such as Quechua and Aymara.

Archivo de Lenguas y Culturas del Ecuador is a digital archive that contains videos, audios, photographs, texts, publications and other materials related to the indigenous languages and nationalities of Ecuador.

Acta Académica is an open access repository based in South America. The site itself is in Spanish and is supported by professionals at different academic institutions in Argentina. The database contains articles on an incredibly diverse number of topics, including those on Indigenous languages and cultures.

Community-based archives such as the Archivo Digital de la Memoria Yanesha and the Archivo Digital Indígena can sometimes be found via a Google search.