LibGuides: Integrative Biology: Journal Articles &amp; Databases

Core Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status.

Set up LibKey Nomad to find access through the UT Libraries subscriptions and purchases.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

Databases by Field

Biosis Citation Index
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. (1926 - present.)
more...less...
Located within the Web of Science platform. To access, click the link and once in the Web of Science interface, simply click 'Search in: Web of Science' and select Biosis Citation Index from the dropdown menu.
Zoological Record
The world’s leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology.
- Keep up on all aspects of animal biology and biodiversity issues.
- Determine the first appearance of an animal name or new species and track taxonomic and nomenclatural changes.
- Search with the help of extensive thesauri, including subject, geographical, paleontological and taxonomic classifier.
more...less...
Located within the Web of Science platform. To access, click the link and once in the Web of Science interface, simply click 'Search in: Web of Science' and select Zoological Record from the dropdown menu.

Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
1946 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Database includes Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text sources from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology's cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Contains bibliographic citations with some abstracts covering agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics and rural sociology. Includes journal articles, books, state extension and experiment station publications and USDA documents.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
1946 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Database includes Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text sources from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology's cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
BioOne Complete aggregates 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. More than three-quarters of the subscribed titles are ranked in Thomson Reuters' Journal Citation Reports, and 43% are available online exclusively in BioOne Complete.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Collection offers full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and EIS (Environmental Impact Statements) databases.

Biosis Citation Index
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. (1926 - present.)
more...less...
Located within the Web of Science platform. To access, click the link and once in the Web of Science interface, simply click 'Search in: Web of Science' and select Biosis Citation Index from the dropdown menu.

BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
BioOne Complete aggregates 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. More than three-quarters of the subscribed titles are ranked in Thomson Reuters' Journal Citation Reports, and 43% are available online exclusively in BioOne Complete.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
1946 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Database includes Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text sources from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology's cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.

PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
1887 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
1907 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Requires users to register with a utexas.edu email account. Provides integrated access to the Chemical Abstracts suite of databases with millions of bibliographic records covering the worldwide chemical literature, including patents; as well as over 100 million substance records, with chemical structures, names, synonyms, and associated property data; plus millions of searchable organic reactions. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, Registry Numbers), and chemical structures.

Integrative Biology

Journal Articles & Databases

Core Databases

Databases by Field

All Biology Databases