The interdisciplinary nature of this Pop-Up Institute brings together a cross section of people and topics from the medical, humanities, and social science arenas. Thus, there are library resources that broadly address this interdisciplinary field and library resources that hover in on specific aspects. Explore the library resources listed under each tab to meet your informational and research needs.
Unlimited users.
This comprehensive database is the definitive index to the world's literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. LGBT Life contains indexing and abstracts for more than 250 LGBT-specific core periodicals as well as periodicals in Women’s and Gender Studies. It also contains more than 350 books and reference works.
LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle and regional publications, including The Advocate, Lesbian News and Bay Windows. LGBT Life also provides indexing and abstracts for the full run of many historically significant titles such as ONE, The Ladder, Mattachine Review, Christopher Street and Body Politic. In addition, LGBT Life includes other source types such as monographs, reference books, newsletters, case studies and speeches. It also provides relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies.
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides indexing for some 400 periodicals, including full text for over 200 titles, in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CommSearch offered bibliographic and keyword references to 26 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back 1915. It also included cover-to-cover indices of NCA's six journals (from their first editions to the present), and abstracts from their earliest appearance in NCA journals. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies.
Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887.
Unlimited users.
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources.
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality by 5 users.
An online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers Press and Oxford University Press, the Encyclopedia of Social Work offers hundreds of overview articles on a range of key topics in social work study as well as concise biographies of influential figures in social work history.
General Sexuality Headings
LGBTQIA+ Headings:
Understanding the Well-Being of LGBTQI+ Populations by
Over the past decade, there have been remarkable changes in the social, political, and legal status of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex (LGBTQI+) and other sexual and gender diverse populations in the United States. Sexual and gender diverse populations, however, remain at risk of social, political, and economic marginalization and continue to experience disparities in domains of well-being that include health, education, employment, and other areas of life. These disparities are particularly severe for LGBTQI+ people who are Black, Indigenous, or members of other communities of color. The 2011 Institute of Medicine report The Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People: Building a Foundation for Better Understanding was a landmark study that informed a decade of research, advocacy, and policy to improve the health and well-being of sexual and gender diverse populations. Understanding the Well-Being of LGBTQI+ Populations builds on this body of work and highlights the need for heightened attention to the structural inequities that continue to exist for LGBTQI+ people, such as widespread gaps in public and private data collection on sexual orientation, gender identity, and intersex status. This report assesses the health and well-being of LGBTQI+ and other sexual and gender diverse populations across the life course and in relation to determinants of well-being such as family formation, community structures, law and policy, education, and employment. It uses an intersectional framework to assess the state of the science and provide recommendations for action-oriented research agendas to help government agencies, private entities, and other actors support and advance the well-being of LGBTQI+ people.
A Quick and Easy Guide to Queer and Trans Identities by
A great starting point for anyone curious about queer and trans life, and helpful for those already on their own journeys!
A Quick and Easy Guide to They/Them Pronouns by
A quick, easy and important and educational comic guide to using gender-neutral pronouns.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.