Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Science Fiction

A guide to the UT Libraries science fiction collection for research and leisure reading.

Welcome

Welcome

Welcome to the University of Texas Libraries' Science Fiction Guide! The UT Libraries has a sizeable collection of science fiction materials, both for leisure reading and research inquiry.

"Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying."

Arthur C. Clarke

About the Collection

The UT Libraries Science Fiction collection has been built intentionally since the 1970s, when Harold W. Billings, the director of the Libraries from 1972-2003, personally curated and donated science fiction novels for the Perry-Castañeda Library. We continue to build the collection with: 

  • Award winners, including annual Hugo, Nebula, and Philip K. Dick Awards 
  • Scholarly criticism of science fiction books, film, and television 
  • Notable films 
  • Graphic novels and comic books
  • Works by authors from diverse and marginalized backgrounds 
  • Works published outside of the United States, in translation and in languages other than English 
     
Image of collage of covers from the "Galaxy Science Fiction" literary magazineImage courtesy of Creative Commons

How to use this guide

This guide aims to assist University of Texas students, faculty, and staff in identifying and accessing books, journals, and electronic materials that treat science fiction/speculative fiction literature and film as objects of serious study. The widespread acceptance of science fiction literature and film as rich areas for academic research has spurred the creation of many specialized print and online resources for literary theorists, cultural historians, film scholars, and others. 

In this research guide for science fiction, you will find:

  • Background information, including information on theories, history, and encyclopedias
  • Journals and peer-reviewed articles. 
  • Suggested databases for research
  • Criticism on films and books
  • Diverse Science and Speculative Fiction and literary criticism that addresses diverse themes
  • Staff recommendations, noteworthy reads, and links to outside UT sources

    Questions? Contact Gina Bastone, the English Librarian: g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu

Help Us Expand Our Collection

 Image courtesy of Creative Commons
 

We pride ourselves in giving our patrons what they want.

If you see that we are missing a book in a series, please help us out! Please use the Purchase Request form and your request will be distributed to the appropriate library staff person. 

Acknowledgements

This Science Fiction Library Guide was created by Adriana Casarez and Victoria Pena in 2018. Additions and edits by Katy Tuck in 2020.

Questions?
Contact Gina Bastone, English Librarian: 
g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.