English Literature

HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. Search more than 11 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).

University of Texas students, faculty, and staff can download materials in the public domain in addition to conducting full text searches of all materials in the HathiTrust Catalog. UT Official Retirees and UT Extension Students are excluded from this access because of HathiTrust's strict definitions and added layer of authentication

Click the "Log In" button and choose "University of Texas at Austin" from the drop-down menu. Select "continue" and then enter your EID and password when prompted.

The HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 80 major academic and research libraries.

Provides access to Cambridge eBooks.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Access to EEBO's Text Creation Partnership is now available.
Aims to provide the total surviving print record of the English speaking world for 227 years (1473-1700). It is the digital version of the popular Early English Books I, Early English Books II, Thomason Tracts, and Early English Books Tract Supplements microfilm collections. The project aims to reproduce all items produced by a printing press (such as books, pamphlets, broadsides) in England and its colonies and any item that was printed anywhere in the world in English between 1473 and 1700. In order to view the PDF documents, you will need the Acrobat Reader plugin from Adobe.

Updated regularly. Contains the full text of all known existing books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in the United States (or British American colonies prior to Independence) from 1639 through 1800. Based on the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans, every nonserial item listed in Evans is reproduced and an additional 1100 titles from Bristol's supplement to Evans is also included.

The eBook Collection provides access to full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers.

The eBook Collection can be accessed using a standard Internet browser; however, some access problems have been reported by patrons using Firefox. If you are having trouble seeing books and are using the most current version of Firefox, try using Chrome or Internet Explorer. EBSCO provides ebooks in Adobe PDF format, so in order to view eBooks online, you will need the correct version of Adobe Reader installed on your computer.

Mac users may want to download the Schubert|it PDF Browser Plugin, a third-party plugin that supports in-browser viewing of PDF files. You may also need an EBSCO account which is free.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Provides access to ebooks.

Users need to login via EID in order to use Ebook Central even if they are on campus.

Ebook Central can be accessed using a standard Internet browser. The Safari browser is recommended for Mac users. Ebook Central provides ebooks in Adobe PDF format, so in order to view Ebook Central ebooks online, you will need the correct version of Adobe Reader installed on your computer. Ebook Central works best with Acrobat Reader version 9 or later.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

A searchable index of academic, peer-reviewed books that have been published under an Open Access license. Includes links to the full-text books on the publishers' websites.

Publishers must meet the requirements for Open Access and peer review in order to have their books indexed in DOAB.

Updated regularly. A digital collection of over 5,000 full-text titles offered by the ACLS (The American Council of Learned Societies) in collaboration with twenty learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. A fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars and featuring unlimited multi-user access and free, downloadable MARC records.