Transportation Engineering - UT & Other Special Sources - Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Transportation Resources

Important UT-Austin, government, and society resources are available to researchers in transportation engineering. These include:

TRID: The TRIS and ITRD Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes the research literature of transportation.
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from the TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

CTR and TxDOT

The University of Texas at Austin's Center for Transportation Research (CTR)

CTR Library
Combine CTR and TxDOT (Texas Department of Transportation) Library Catalog
CTR Reports - these are also held in print in the collections of the University Libraries

Previously named the Council for Advanced Transportation Studies (CATS) (1972-1979)

CATS reports

Trip Generation

The Institute of Transportation Engineers publishes Trip Generation, providing information about how many daily vehicle trips are generated by a type of building or business.

Trip Generation Manual by Institute of Transportation Engineers Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: HE 336 T7 T75 2021 Engineering Reference
ISBN: 173450787X
Publication Date: 2021
This is a special set of information providing counts of how many vehicle trips are generated by a defined kind (and size) of business or building.

Statistical Sources --- not a comprehensive list but some good titles

Bureau of Transportation Statistics
United States Department of Transportation
Data.gov
Search across huge amounts of data gathered by the U.S. federal government.
National Transportation Safety Board
Data & Stats
U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)
Research, Statistics, and Technology

Statista This link opens in a new window
Transportation information is one part of this product's coverage. It's an index and database of statistical information from sources including government agencies and industry groups.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
While historical and time series data are not a focus of Statista, the metadata about each table provides all the necessary information to go to the table’s source, where historical information may be available.

Reports - Governmental and International organizations

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It replaced SourceOECD in July 2010
Updated regularly. The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Comprises 17 Studies by Themes for monographs and reports; all OECD books and papers published since 1998; and the OECD statistical datasets online, which cover over 80 countries with data going back to the 1960s.
Note: Datasets from the International Energy Agency (IEA) are not included in our subscription.

Mobility and Transport (European Commission)
Transportation information from the European Union. See the "Statistical Pocketbook" here: https://ec.europa.eu/transport/media/media-corner/publications_en
National Transportation Library
-Provides national and international access to transportation information
-Coordinates information creation and dissemination
-Offers reference services for the transportation community
Plane and Train Wrecks | Online Collections
"This site is home to full-text searchable databases about the transportation industry. Here you can search or browse over a dozen different datbases including fully digitized copies of manuals, regulations, and investigations of accidents." (It's easier to see the old than to see the new.)
Transportation Statistics Annual Report (TSAR)
The Transportation Statistics Annual Report (TSAR) provides the most comprehensive overview of U.S. transportation that is done on an annual basis. TSAR examines the extent of the system, how it is used, how well it works, how it affects people and the economy and how it relates to energy use and environmental impacts. It also outlines the state of transportation statistics and new developments in data collection and analysis.
TRB (Transportation Research Board) Publications
The TRB Publications Index contains more than 66,000 papers, articles, and reports published by the Transportation Research Board, Highway Research Board, Strategic Highway Research Program, or the Marine Board from 1923 to date. (Note that UT subscribes to much of this content but the database won't know that.)