Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

History

European Studies

European Studies

European Studies

French and Italian Studies

The French and Italian Studies collections at the University of Texas at Austin include primarily print and electronic material, microfilm/microfiche, and audiovisual material (DVDs, videocassettes, and streaming video). Strengths of the collection include Francophone literature in Latin America/Caribbean and Africa, literary history, film, linguistics, and the Medieval/Renaissance period across the Liberal and Fine Arts. Material in the University of Texas Libraries – Perry-Castañeda Library, the Fine Arts Library and Benson Latin American Collection – is complemented by the French and Italian Collections of the Ransom Center and several collections of the Blanton Museum of Art. A core collection of bandes dessinées in French and in translation supports emerging campus interest in graphic novels and comics generally.

Teaching and research on French and Italian Studies is primarily in the College of Liberal Arts and the College of Fine Arts, although European Studies encompasses policies of the European Union taught primarily in the LBJ School of Public Affairs.

The French and Italian Collections support and work most closely with the Department of French & Italian, the Center for European Studies and the France-University of Texas Institute.

 Iberian Studies

The Iberian Studies collection of the University of Texas at Austin consist of over 78,000 holdings in several disciplines, with a particular emphasis in literature, literary criticism, linguistics and history. Our holdings are mainly located in the Perry-Castañeda Library , the Harry Ransom Center and the Benson Latin American Collection. The priority of the Iberian collections is to provide a comprehensive and complete representation of famous literary work.

The Spanish collection has a solid representation of all major literary figures and genres of Spanish literature, including medieval drama and poetry, Golden Age literature, the picaresque novel and contemporary fiction and poetry. Our Spanish collection also comprises literary work in Catalan, Basque and Gallegan. Our holdings also have a fair representation of Spanish history. On the other hand, our Portuguese collection covers all literary period and genres of Portuguese literature, with a particular strength in Troubadour poets of the 12th century and literary works of the 20th century.

The Iberian collections of the UT Libraries supports and most closely works with the Department of Spanish and Portuguese and the Center for European Studies.

For more information about researching on the Iberian collections at UT go to the Iberian Studies Research Guide.

Slavic and Eurasian Studies

The Slavic and Eurasian collections consist of over 153,000 imprints, 500 titles on microfilms, and nearly 300 current serials subscriptions. The Libraries also have a substantial amount of online resources and CD-ROMs. Our materials are primarily housed in the Perry Castaneda Library, but important materials are also located in the Fine Arts Library and the Architecture and Planning Library. A significant number of scientific material in the Russian language can be found in the Walter Geology Library and the Marine Science Library.

The Slavic and Eurasian Studies collection of the University of Texas Libraries has a strong focus in Russian language and literature and Soviet history, which together comprise over half of our holdings. Our next largest collection is the Czech language and literature, including a notable coverage of the Czech-American culture.

The Slavic and Eurasian Collection supports the Department of Slavic & Eurasian Studies and the Center for Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies.

For more information about the Slavic and Eurasian collections, go to Slavic and Eurasian Studies Research Guide.

Recommended Resources

Loading ...

Internet Sources

Loading ...

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.