LibGuides: History: Germanic Studies

Germanic Studies

The Germanic Studies collection of the University of Texas at Austin consists of over 221,000 resources in all formats. Our collection focuses on Germanic literature, linguistics, cinema, history and German sports. We also have an outstanding fiction collection that is frequently used by other universities. Among our most valuable resources is our collection covering German immigrants in Texas beginning in the 1800s.

The Germanic Studies collection of the UT Libraries supports and works most closely with the Department of Germanic Studies.

Recommended Resources

Databases and Indexes

MLA International Bibliography
1926 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
1973 - present. Unlimited users.
Monthly updates, with about 14,000 new records added a year. Indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1955 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.

Germanistik
ISBN: 0016-8912
Publication Date: 2007- (online)
Germanistik is the central international journal covering the study of German language and literature, including associated fields...Each volume contains some 8,000 published titles in its bibliography.

Librarian

Shiela Winchester

Email Me

Contact:

512 495 4254

Subjects: Archaeology, Classics, Dutch Literature, Folklore, Germanic Studies, Greek and Latin Language and Literature, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Scandinavian

Internet Resources

Databases and Indexes

Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
Provides essays, bibliographies and resources for teaching, specifically from the period of Renaissance and Reformation.
Victorian Web
Provides extensive links to sites related to all aspects of 19th-century Britain.
WESSWEB
The Western European Specialists Section (WESS) is part of the Association of College and Research Libraries, a division of the American Library Association. WESS is professionally involved in the acquisition, organization, and use of information sources originating in or related to Western European countries.