Drawn from major repositories throughout the South, Plantations Records, Parts 1 and 2, include two major collections of primary sources:
Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations From The Revolution Through The Civil War:
- Series A: Selections from the South Carolina Library, University of South Carolina:
- Part 1: The Papers of James Henry Hammond, 1795–1865
- Part 2: Miscellaneous Collections
- Series D: Selections from the Maryland Historical Society
- Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library:
- Part 1: Virginia Plantations
- Part 2: Virginia Plantations
- Part 3: Virginia Plantations
- Part 4: Cocke Family Papers
- Part 5: Ambler Family Papers
- Part 6: Virginia Plantations
- Series F: Selections from the Manuscript Department, Duke University Library:
- Part 1: The Deep South
- Part 2: South Carolina and Georgia
- Part 3: North Carolina, Maryland, and Virginia
- Part 4: North Carolina and Virginia
- Part 5: William Patterson Smith Collection
- Series H: Tulane and Louisiana State Museum
- Series I: Selections from Louisiana State University:
- Part 1: Louisiana Sugar Plantations
- Part 2: Louisiana and Miscellaneous Southern Cotton Plantations
- Part 3: The Natchez Area
- Part 4: Barrow, Bisland, Bowman, and Other Collections
- Part 5: Butler Family Collections
- Part 6: David Weeks and Family Collection
- Series M: Selections from the Virginia Historical Society:
- Part 1: Tayloe Family, 1650–1970
- Part 2: Northern Neck of Virginia; also Maryland
- Part 3: Other Tidewater Virginia
- Part 4: Central Piedmont Virginia
- Part 5: Southside Virginia
- Part 6: Northern Virginia and Valley
Records of Southern Plantations From Emancipation To The Great Migration:
- Series A: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collections Library, Duke University:
- Part 1: Alabama and South Carolina Plantations
- Part 2: North Carolina and Virginia Plantations
- Part 3: Georgia and Florida Plantations
- Series B: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries:
- Part 1: Louisiana Sugar Plantations
- Part 2: Louisiana Cotton Plantations
- Part 3: Louisiana Sugar Plantations (Bayou Lafourche and Bayou Teche)
- Part 4: Mississippi Cotton Plantations
- Part 5: Albert Batchelor Papers
- Part 6: Weeks Family Papers
- Series C: Selections from the South Carolina Library, University of South Carolina:
- Part 1: The Hammond Family Papers
- Part 2: Selected Collections
