American journalism : a history of newspapers in the United States through 250 years, 1690-1940 by
"Bibliographical notes" at end of each section.
American Journalism History by
Sloan has undertaken to fill a long-standing gap in the study of journalism history. He has compiled a comprehensive annotated bibliography of works pertaining to United States journalism history from colonial to contemporary times. Some 2,600 separate entries provide information on dissertations, articles, monographs, books and reference materials published between 1810 and 1988. . . . Overall this is a useful, stimulating volume that pulls together a diverse collection of materials. It should enrich the teaching and writing of journalism history. American Journalism The history of the American news media has been a popular subject with journalists, popular writers, and historians since the early years of the Republic, and it continues to attract widespread interest. Until now, however, no complete bibliography of these historical materials has been available. This comprehensive work provides access to the existing literature on all types of journalism from newspapers to television. In his introduction, Sloan reviews the different approaches to journalism history that have characterized writing in the field. The bibliography is divided by historical period and general theme into 16 sections. Carefully annotated, it presents concise summaries and bibliographic information for some 2,600 articles, books, research guides, and reference works published between 1810 and 1988. More than 100 journals are included. Cross-referencing and a detailed index will help the reader locate materials on specific topics as well as those with wider application. An invaluable tool for historians and other scholars engaged in research, this book will also serve as a useful reference for courses in mass communications and the history of journalism.
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by
The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives. They cover new applications and developments, such as the incorporation of Neuroscience techniques in advertising and marketing. Other updates include Cyber-bullying, Twitter scandals, conduct in media organizations, on-line lobbying, global protesting/petitioning, and gender issues relating to social media in general. While new entries explore the profound shifts that have taken place in the world of communication in recent years, the purpose of this new edition is not necessarily to keep abreast of every new media event but to reflect the trends that influence and prompt such events, such as the Leveson Inquiry and Report and phone hacking via mobile phones. Politics seems to be playing out more on Twitter than in The Times. This volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, as well as more critical consumers of modern news.
Editor & Publisher Newspaper Databook
"The encyclopedia of the newspaper industry."
Encyclopedia of American Journalism by
The Encyclopedia of American Journalism explores the distinctions found in print media, radio, television, and the internet. This work seeks to document the role of these different forms of journalism in the formation of America's understanding and reaction to political campaigns, war, peace, protest, slavery, consumer rights, civil rights, immigration, unionism, feminism, environmentalism, globalization, and more. This work also explores the intersections between journalism and other phenomena in American Society, such as law, crime, business, and consumption. The evolution of journalism's ethical standards is discussed, as well as the important libel and defamation trials that have influenced journalistic practice, its legal protection, and legal responsibilities. Topics covered include: Associations and Organizations; Historical Overview and Practice; Individuals; Journalism in American History; Laws, Acts, and Legislation; Print, Broadcast, Newsgroups, and Corporations; Technologies.
Encyclopedia of Journalism by
The six-volume Encyclopedia of Journalism covers all significant dimensions of journalism including: print, broadcast and Internet journalism; US and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth Century Journalists by
Originally published in 1986. This book is a unique compilation of biographical sketches which covers editors, publishers, photographers, bureau chiefs, columnists, commentators, cartoonists, and artists. Alphabetical entries provide overviews of the lives and personalities of a good cross-section of important people. There is also a short essay on awards and prize winners.
The Handbook of Journalism Studies by
The volume is structured around theoretical and empirical approaches to journalism research and covers scholarship on news production; news content; journalism and society; journalism and culture; and journalism studies in a global context.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Journalism Studies by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Journalism Studies takes stock of this evolving field, summarizes the development of major themes of research, revisits key concepts and traditional forms and genres of journalism in light of contemporary developments, and to sets out directions for future research. The 104 essays in this encyclopedia fall into six main categories: Key Concepts; Theories and Research Perspectives; the Practice of Journalism; Forms, Genres, and Types of Journalism; Systems and Structures of Journalism; and the Reception of Journalism.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Journalism by
Journalism permeates our lives and shapes our thoughts in ways that we have long taken for granted. Whether it is National Public Radio in the morning or the lead story on the Today show, the morning newspaper headlines, up-to-the-minute Internet news, grocery store tabloids, Time magazine in our mailbox, or the nightly news on television, journalism pervades our lives. The Encyclopedia of Journalism covers all significant dimensions of journalism, such as print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; and history, technology, legal issues and court cases, ownership, and economics. The encyclopedia will consist of approximately 500 signed entries from scholars, experts, and journalists, under the direction of lead editor Gregory Borchard of University of Nevada, Las Vegas.
The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society by
The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society discusses media around the world in their varied forms--newspapers, magazines, radio, television, film, books, music, websites, social media, mobile media--and describes the role of each in both mirroring and shaping society. This encyclopedia provides a thorough overview of media within social and cultural contexts, exploring the development of the mediated communication industry, mediated communication regulations, and societal interactions and effects. This reference work examines free expression and government regulation of media; how people choose what media to watch, listen to, and read; and how the influence of those who control media organizations may be changing as new media empower previously unheard voices.
EID login required
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.
