LibGuides: Journalism &amp; Media: News Article Databases & Local News Sources

News Article Databases

Factiva
A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites.
Gale OneFile: News
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 3,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. Resource allows users to translate articles into more than 40 different languages, create email alerts, and customize search options and results format.

New York Times Online
We have free access to the New York Times Online for all students, faculty and staff at UT. Please sign-up using this guide. We also have access to Cooking, Games and the Athletic.

Newspaper Source Plus
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. Also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Nexis Uni
Provides a wide variety of authoritative sources (usually with full text content), including, but not limited to:
Full text of more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, many same day of publication, including extensive archives for many titles. More than 300 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters. Broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio networks as well as political transcripts covering Congressional committee hearings, press briefings from the State, Justice, and Defense departments, and presidential news conferences. Campus news from nearly 300 individual college/university papers. Wire services, updated several times a day, including respected names such as the Associated Press, Business Wire and PR Newswire. Non-English language news sources available in Spanish, French, German, Italian and Dutch, including both newspapers and magazines.

Local News Sources

**Austin American Statesman**
Date	Location
1871 - 1980	Austin American Statesman Historical Database
1989 - 1994	Library Storage Facility CD-ROM 52, Request via Pick It Up
1996 - 2017	Gale OneFile News
Sept. 1997 - Dec. 2003 & Apr. 2012 - Apr. 2019	Newspaper Source Plus
1989 - present	Newsbank at Austin Public Library (requires Library card)

Historical Texas Newspapers

Portal to Texas History
Includes materials from the Briscoe Center on campus, historical Texas newspapers and much more
Brownsville Herald
1912-1940.
Brownsville Herald
2002-2014.

Daily Texan
Unlimited users.
Full issues of the student newspaper of UT Austin.

The Dallas Express
1919-1924.

more... less...

The Express became one of the most influential black publications in Texas in the decades leading up to the Great Depression.

Dallas Morning News (Historical)
Unlimited users.
Provides comprehensive coverage for one of the largest daily newspapers in Texas. Accessible by keyword and date searching. Documents major events in Texas, the United States, and the world, providing valuable primary source information. Includes classified and display advertising, photos and graphics.

Dallas Morning News (Current)
1997-present (spotty coverage for early 2000s - see this additional database that may fill gaps in coverage here).
El Paso Herald/ El Paso Times (Historical)
1881 - present

Houston Chronicle (Historical)
Unlimited users.
Research Houston history through the Houston Chronicle Historical Collection. Study trends, issues, events, advertisements, companies and more through historical and current full newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Available remotely 24/7 on any device. Includes full newspaper pages. Additional coverage may be available for 1996-2017.

Houston Chronicle
1996-2012.
The Houston Informer
1919-1931. Weekly African-American newspaper from Houston, Texas

more... less...

Weekly African-American newspaper from Houston, Texas that includes local, state, and national news along with advertising.

Houston Post (Historical)
Unlimited users.
Research Houston history through the Houston Post Historical Collection with coverage from 1886 – 1995. Primary source information to examine events, issues and daily life in the context of the historical period, featuring archived full newspaper pages. Available remotely 24/7 on any device. Includes full newspaper pages.

La Prensa
1913-1923. Daily Spanish-language newspaper from San Antonio, Texas
San Antonio Express
1911-1920.

Texas Newspaper Archive
Unlimited users.
Digitized copies and content of Texas newspapers, including The Austin Daily Texan (1900-2019), Galveston Daily News (1865-2017), San Antonio Express (1865-1977), San Antonio Light (1883-1977)and hundreds of other Texas newspapers.

Local Media

KUT
KUT, 90.5 is Austin's NPR radio station. This website carries broadcasts and stories reflecting local news.
KVUE
KVUE is the Austin, Texas ABC affiliate.
KXAN
KXAN is the Austin, Texas NBC affiliate. KXAN is committed to succinct and powerful hard news coverage through its in-depth, investigative brand and is consistently the #1 most viewed news station in the market.
Texas Standard
A one-hour daily news magazine, Texas Standard is produced in the state capital in collaboration with KUT Austin, KERA North Texas, Houston Public Media and Texas Public Radio San Antonio, as well as news organizations across Texas, Mexico and the United States.
Texas Tribune
The Texas Tribune is the only member-supported, digital-first, nonpartisan media organization that informs Texans about public policy, politics, government and statewide issues. It is in Newsbank at APL, 2009 - present.

Other Tips

Many newspapers offer individual subscriptions to archives for a small fee. For instance, the Dallas Morning News offers an ePaper + subscription for $4.95 a week for individuals (if your department had budget for it). If you start searching here: https://archives.dallasnews.com/ those options appear.

Texas State Library and Archives has links to many Texas newspapers

Austin Public Library has Newsbank, a database of newspapers and broadcasts. Within Newsbank, you can go to an A-Z source list to see the titles, or you can search for sources by location. You must live in Austin and have a library card (you can get one virtually here) to use the service.

Newsbank has these Texas newspapers (plus many others):

Austin American Statesman from 1989 – present
Dallas Morning News from 1984 - 2016
Houston Chronicle from 1985 - 2020
Texas Tribune from 2009 - present

If you don't see a newspaper you'd like here, you can sort all of our Databases by Type: Newspapers and Newswires, to see what we have access to online. See image below and use the second column from the left to sort by Type.

Other Local Newspapers

Austin Chronicle
The Austin Chronicle is an alternative weekly newspaper published every Thursday in Austin, Texas, United States. The paper is distributed through free news-stands, often at local eateries or coffee houses frequented by its targeted demographic.
Austin Villager
The Villager is a community paper that serves consumers and merchants in the Greater Austin Metroplex. With an emphasis on African Americans, The Villager focuses on community and national news, events, announcements and newsmakers, as expressed in general, political, business and sports news, along with editorials and comments.
El Mundo
El Mundo Newspaper is a Spanish-language newspaper distributed in Austin and San Antonio. It is headquartered in Austin.

Texas Magazines

Texas Monthly
Covering Texas news, politics, food, history, travel, crime, music, and everything in between for fifty years.
Texas Observer
The Texas Observer is a progressive nonprofit news outlet and print magazine covering the Lone Star State. The Observer strives to make Texas a more equitable place through investigative reporting, narrative storytelling, and political and cultural coverage and commentary.
Texas Highways
The mission of Texas Highways is to encourage travel to and within Texas. It is produced by the Texas Department of Transportation.

Contact Information

Meryl Brodsky

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Advertising, Communication Studies, Journalism and Media, Library and Information Science, Public Relations, Radio-Television-Film, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

Journalism & Media

News Article Databases & Local News Sources

News Article Databases

Local News Sources

Austin American Statesman

Historical Texas Newspapers

Local Media

Other Tips

Other Local Newspapers

Texas Magazines

Contact Information

Ask a Librarian