LibGuides: Journalism &amp; Media: Research Centers, Write &amp; Cite

Research Centers

American Press Institute The American Press Institute advances an innovative and sustainable news industry by helping publishers understand and engage audiences, grow revenue, improve public-service journalism, and succeed at organizational change.
The Center for Media and Public Affairs CMPA's goal is to provide an empirical basis for ongoing debates over media coverage and impact through well-documented, timely, and readable studies.
Pew Research Center on Journalism and Media The Pew Research Center conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. It's a good place to find data and articles about how Americans view the news and media.
Poynter Institute Poynter faculty and industry experts explore the intersection of journalism, technology and the public interest. Poynter specializes in: Ethics and fact-checking Reporting and storytelling Developing journalism’s leaders Advancing newsroom diversity Strengthening local news companies
Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy The Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy is a Harvard Kennedy School research center dedicated to exploring and illuminating the intersection of press, politics and public policy in theory and practice. The Center strives to bridge the gap between journalists and scholars, and between them and the public.
Tow Center for Digital Journlism The Tow Center for Digital Journalism, established in 2010, provides journalists with the skills and knowledge to lead the future of digital journalism and serves as a research and development center for the profession as a whole.

Writing Centers

Sanger Learning Center
Graduate school can be challenging in many ways. Meet with a learning specialist to discuss your professional goals, procrastination, or anxiety about writing your dissertation.
University Writing Center
The UWC now offers services to graduate students.
Moody Writing Center
The Moody Writing Center supports students in all Moody departments.

Books

Watch Your Words: the Rowman and Littlefield Language-Skills Handbook for Journalists by Marda Dunsky Watch Your Words provides journalists with a ready reference tool for grammar and AP style as they tackle deadlines and bylines. This brief handbook uses straightforward examples that make it easy to consult and understand. It contains self-tests and answer keys to sharpen language skills and study guides for mastering AP style and copy-editing symbols. Updated to reflect recent changes in AP style, Watch Your Words equips both professionals and students with the basic tools to produce clean copy.
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Copycrafting by Kenneth Rosenauer From newspapers to Twitter®, the media's ability to deliver news and interact with audiences is constantly changing. In Copycrafting, author Kenneth Rosenauer provides aspiring journalists and copyeditors with the essential tools for delivering content effectively and correctly, regardless of the media platform. More than just the basics of copyediting and AP style, this complete package provides a wealth of examples and exercises for practice. This allows students to actively learn the editing skills that they will need to flourish in the constantly evolving media landscape. Features * Excellent coverage of AP style with explanations and examples * Tips on writing headlines, editing problem leads, editing images and designing pages * Stories for students to edit * An Appendix that contains a directory for students to consult as they complete the exercises * A Solutions Manual with corrected versions of every exercise in the book, available to instructors on the Companion Website (www.oup.com/us/rosenauer)
Call Number: PCL Stacks PN 4778 R625 2012
Publication Date: 2013-07-15
The Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law by Norm Goldstein
Call Number: PCL Stacks PN 4783 A83
Publication Date: 2017

AP Style - Purdue Writing Lab
This site page provides an introduction to AP style and a summary of some AP style rules.

Citation Management Tools

There are a variety of citation management tools available to support students and scholars in collecting, organizing and citing literature. UT Librarians often recommend Zotero to students because it is free and portable, but there are other tools.

Citation Management Software Comparison Charts

EndNote (Basic is free from Web of Science/Clarivate)

EndNote comes in different versions: EndNote (license desktop), EndNote Basic and EndNote Online, click here to learn more.

Mendeley (free from Elsevier)

Mendeley.com - Download the free software to organize, annotate citations and pdfs
Mendeley YouTube Channel - training videos

Zotero (free Open source)

Zotero.org - Start here to download both the standalone software and a browser plugin
Zotero's Quick Start Guide
Zotero Introduction - video from UT Library
Zotero Forums - Zotero user communities have answers to technical questions

Citing Sources

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: PCL Stacks BF 76.7 P83 2020
Publication Date: 2019
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. APA tutorials and webinars are linked here.
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing by Modern Language Association of America Staff (Created by)
Call Number: PCL Check Out Desk PN 147 G444 2008 & other locations
Publication Date: 2008
The third edition of the MLA Style Manual offers guidance on writing scholarly texts, documenting research sources, submitting manuscripts to publishers, and dealing with legal issues surrounding publication.
The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2017
This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style offers citation chapters that include social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer guidelines on DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators.