African-American Newspapers and Periodicals by
"We wish to plead our own cause. Too long have others spoken for us." These words are from the front page of Freedom's Journal, the first African-American newspaper published in the United States, in 1827, a milestone event in the history of an oppressed people. From then on a prodigious and hitherto almost unknown cascade of newspapers, magazines, letters, and other literary, historical, and popular writing poured from presses chronicling black life in America. The authentic voice of African-American culture is captured in this first comprehensive guide to a treasure trove of writings by and for a people, as found in sources in the United States, Canada, and the Caribbean. This bibliography of over 6,000 entries is the indispensable guide to the stories of slavery, freedom, Jim Crow, segregation, liberation, struggle, and triumph. Besides describing many new discoveries--from church documents to early civil rights ephemera, from school records to single-mother newsletters, from artists' journals to labor publications--this work informs researchers where and how to find them (for example, through online databases, microfilm, or traditional catalogs).
American Indian and Alaska Native Newspapers and Periodicals, 1826-1924 by
Arranged alphabetically by title, gives the history, location, information sources and publication history for over 200 titles. Appendices include a list of titles by chronology, a list of titles by location, and a list of titles by tribal affiliation or emphasis.
Asian Americans and the Mass Media by
A Content Analysis of Twenty United States Newspapers and a Survey of Asian American Journalists. First published in 2000.
Bibliographic Checklist of African American Newspapers by
This book contains a complete checklist of African American newspapers identified in all major bibliographic sources--newspaper directories, union lists, finding aids, African American bibliographies, yearbooks, and specifically African American newspaper sources. In short, it is a comprehensive checklist of every newspaper that has served African Americans since 1827--a total of 5,539 newspapers. For reference purposes the text is arranged in tabular format under the following headings: newspaper title, city and state of publication, frequency of publication, dates, and sources. Newspapers are listed by state and city, which are in alphabetical order, then, by city, in alphabetical order by title. The papers are again listed alphabetically in the index, this time in a single, comprehensive list which serves as the best fingertip reference to black newspapers in existence. This is a core book for any collection of African American reference materials.
Disability Media Work by
This book interrogates trends in training and employment of people with disabilities in the media through an analysis of people with disabilities' self-representation in media employment. Improving disability representations in the media is vital to improving the social position of people with disability, and including people with lived experience of disability is integral to this process. While the media industry has changed significantly as a result of digital and participatory media, discriminatory attitudes around fear and pity continue to impact whether people with disability find work in the media. The book demonstrates no significant changes in attitudes towards employing disabled media workers since the 1990s when the last major research into this topic took place. By focusing on the employment of people with disability in media industries, Katie Ellis addresses a neglected area of media diversity, appealing to researchers in media and cultural studies as well as critical disability studies.
Gay Press, Gay Power: the Growth of LGBT Community Newspapers in America by
This book provides an overview of the history of LGBT community newspapers and magazines in America. It provides a specific focus on weekly and biweekly newspapers, but also assesses the LGBT state of print media overall. Finalist for the 2013 Lambda Literary Awards; Top 10 selection for the American Library Association Over the Rainbow Project Book List, a committee of the GLBT Round Table of the ALA.
Hispanic Periodicals in the United States, Origins to 1960 by
By all accounts, the most important document for studying the history, literature, and culture of Hispanics in the United States has been Spanish-language newspapers. A noted cultural historian and a respected indexer-bibliographer have teamed up to provide the first comprehensive and authoritative source on the production, worldview, and distribution of these periodicals. This useful compendium includes richly annotated entries, notes, and three indexes: by subject, by date, and by geography. The bibliography includes some 1,700 entries in standard bibliographic annotation.
Hispanic Media, U. S. A. by
Narrative guide to print and electronic Hispanic news media in the United States.
Journalism Across Cultures by
This primary text provides a synopsis of research into the coverage of minorities. It offers a report on an innovative approach to improved coverage of minorities through journalist and researcher collaboration. Authors examine the news coverage of women, using this coverage as an example to describe the varying academic theories by which news content about any subject can be studied. The text probes individual underrepresented groups, analyzes the history of their coverage, and offers recommendations and resources for improved coverage.
Journalism as Activism by
In the mediated digital era, communication is changing fast and eating up ever greater shares of real-world power. Corporate battles and guerrilla wars are fought on Twitter. Facebook is the new Berlin, home to tinkers, tailors, spies - and terrorist recruiters. We recognize the power shift instinctively but, in our attempts to understand it, we keep using conceptual and theoretical models that are not changing fast, that are barely changing at all, that are laid over from the past. Journalism remains one of the main sites of communication power, an expanded space where citizens, protesters, PR professionals, tech developers and hackers can directly shape the news. Adrienne Russell reports on media power from one of the most vibrant corners of the journalism field, the corner where journalists and activists from countries around the world cross digital streams and end up updating media practices and strategies. Russell demonstrates the way the relationship between digital journalism and digital activism has shaped coverage of the online civil liberties movement, the Occupy movement, and the climate change movement. Journalism as Activism explores the ways everyday meaning and the material realities of media power are tied to the communication tools and platforms we have access to, the architectures of digital space we navigate, and our ability to master and modify our media environments.
U. S. News Coverage of Racial Minorities by
This one-volume sourcebook draws together the scholarly literature assessing news coverage in the U.S. mainstream media of Americans of African, Native, Asian, Hispanic, or Pacific Islander origin. The work covers over 60 years, beginning in 1934, and examines the 50 states and the territories in the Pacific and the Caribbean that are currently under U.S. governance. The categories of racial and cultural groups follow the scheme of the 1990 U.S. Census, which provided the most detailed breakdown of race and ethnicity of the American population in the 200-year history of the census. This sourcebook gives parallel treatment to each of these five census groups. Every chapter begins with a history of that group as it came under U.S. jurisdiction. Then, each chapter is divided into six periods suggested by pivotal news events and discusses studies of news coverage of that group during that period. Each chapter also contains extensive endnotes and a selected bibliography on a racial or cultural group. Also included are chapters on investigative reporting and federal regulation of broadcasting as they relate to minorities.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.
