Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Research Organization with Citation Managers

Adding Items

Add Citations

EndNote Basic / Online lets you add references to your EndNote library in several ways, including:

  • Importing directly from library databases
  • From library databases, with the aid of "capture"
  • Manually, with you typing in the information
  • With "Online Search"
  • From plain-text, tagged-field files of records
  • Synching with your EndNote Desktop (if you have purchased that software)

Sign in to Your Account

To get started, sign in to your EndNote Basic / Online account at:

MyEndNoteWeb.com

endnote web sign in

or

at EndNote.com, select the

endnote basic at endnote

Import from a Library Database

When possible, take advantage of the import option offered through library databases:

endnote basic import

Capture References

From EndNote: "Use the Capture Reference feature for online resources that do not have options for direct export. Capture Reference scans the bibliographic information presented on a Web page and creates a reference for you to save to a new or existing group. Some databases, such as PubMed, allow you to capture an entire page of references at once."

  1. You'll need to have installed the Capture Reference Tool --- see the "Getting Started" first page of this section.  That is, drag the Capture Reference button to your bookmarks.
  2. Browse to a page where you want to gather information.
  3. Click on the Capture Reference button from the bookmarks.
  4. Follow the directions.

endnote basic capture

Type in the Information

To enter a reference "manually":

  • Click the Collect tab; then click New Reference. 
  • Select the appropriate reference type. 
  • Enter data into the desired fields. Fields commonly used by major style guides will appear first.

endnote collect new reference

Online Search

You can connect with library catalogs and databases through the EndNote interface.

  • Click the Collect tab; then click Online Search. 
  • Select a remote database --- the completely free version has only a few options.
  • Perform your search. 
  • Mark desired references, and use the drop-down menu to add them to your library.

endnote basic collect online

From Record Files with Tagged Fields

EndNote can import references saved in a consistently tagged plain-text format:

  • Hover over the Collect tab; then click Import References. 
  • Browse to select the text file. 
  • Select the Import Option (filter) that matches the database where you created the file. 
  • Select the group for imported references. 
  • Click Import

endnote basic tagged

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.