Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards by Peter Urben (Editor)Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards, Eighth Edition presents the latest updates on the unexpected, but predictable, loss of containment and explosion hazards from chemicals and their admixtures and actual accidents. The extensively cross-referenced book enables readers to avoid explosion and loss of containment of chemicals. Primary and more specialized sources are easily traced, and this new edition includes available record updates, also adding a number of new records. In this newly updated and expanded edition, the content is presented in a clear and user-friendly format.
Publication Date: 2017-03-24
Chemical Hazards in the Workplace by Ronald M. ScottThis book introduces you to Industrial Toxicology - and is especially valuable for the engineer, scientists, or manager with responsibility - but no previous education or experience in the subject. Very "User Friendly." Text at the upper undergraduate and graduate level.
Publication Date: 2020-01-29
A Comprehensive Guide to the Hazardous Properties of Chemical Substances by Pradyot PatnaikThe definitive guide to the hazardous properties of chemical compounds Correlating chemical structure with toxicity to humans and the environment, and the chemical structure of compounds to their hazardous properties, "A Comprehensive Guide to the Hazardous Properties of Chemical Substances, Third Edition" allows users to assess the toxicity of a substance even when no experimental data exists. Thus, it bridges the gap between hazardous materials and chemistry. Extensively updated and expanded, this reference: Examines organics, metals and inorganics, industrial solvents, common gases, particulates, explosives, and radioactive substances, covering everything from toxicity and carcinogenicity to flammability and explosive reactivity to handling and disposal practices Arranges hazardous chemical substances according to their chemical structures and functional groups for easy reference Includes updated information on the toxic, flammable, and explosive properties of chemical substances Covers additional metals in the chapters on toxic and reactive metals Updates the threshold exposure limits in the workplace air for a number of substances Features the latest information on industrial solvents and toxic and flammable gases Includes numerous tables, formulas, and a glossary for quick referenceBecause it provides information that enables those with a chemistry background to perform assessments without prior data, this comprehensive reference appeals to chemists, chemical engineers, toxicologists, and forensic scientists, as well as industrial hygienists, occupational physicians, Hazmat professionals, and others in related fields.
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Hazmat Data by Richard P. PohanishThe HazMat Data, 2nd Edition provides a detailed reference for emergency responders and people who transport chemicals. Considering the events of September 11, the book is especially oriented toward first responder and emergency management personnel. Additions to this new Second Edition include Spanish language synonyms for all entries, and an increased overall number of synonyms. New to this edition is information on chemical warfare (CW) agents and Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD)-nerve gasses, blister agents/vesicants, "blood agents," choking/pulmonary agents, and crowd-control agents (tear gasses, pepper sprays, etc.)-that might be used as weapons of terrorism. It clearly explains symptoms of exposure and appropriate treatment for the exposure when available, and describes what to do in an emergency situation. The book also gives the NFPA hazard classifications, as well as chemical hazard class information. Newly updated, The HazMat Data, 2nd Editio provides a comprehensive, up-to-date summary of this vital information.