Consumer Behavior - Mintel - Summer Entrepreneurship Academy - McCombs School of Business - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Psychographics Defined

Psychographics:

Analysis of consumer lifestyles to create a detailed customer profile. Market researchers conduct psychographic research by asking consumers to agree or disagree with activities, interests, and opinions statements. (BusinessDictionary.com)

MINTEL: INSIGHTS - Expert Analysis

Search for reports
Filter by: Category, Region, Trend Drivers, Demographics

MINTEL: ANALYTICS - Consumer Data

Interactive Databooks: contain survey questions and demographic data.

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Report embargo; 70 days from the current date. Includes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts.
In order to use Mintel, you must first agree to the terms of Mintel Academic Access. After you agree, you then need to sign in with your Mintel Reports Personal Profile before you can use the database. New users can create a profile using an online form that provides Mintel with your name, email address and a password of your own choosing; however, the email address must include the ""utexas.edu"" domain [e.g. @mccombs.utexas.edu, @mail.utexas.edu, @austin.utexas.edu]. Addresses from other domains [e.g., @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, @utexas.net] will not be accepted.

Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
While historical and time series data are not a focus of Statista, the metadata about each table provides all the necessary information to go to the table’s source, where historical information may be available.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 5 users.
Updated regularly. An Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Professional mapping applications can take over 20 hours of training to use, but SimplyMap is designed so that most users need less than 10 minutes of training in order to use the product.
Please either create a free account or use the Guest Login to enter the site.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

How to view selected "Data Variables".

New Project - Select target area
Select one or more “seed” variables - # Total Population
Create Project - view map
Select "Ranking" right-hand side of page to view data variables.

Create Project - view map

Select "Ranking" right-hand side of page in order to view data variables selected.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 5 users.
Updated regularly. An Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Professional mapping applications can take over 20 hours of training to use, but SimplyMap is designed so that most users need less than 10 minutes of training in order to use the product.
Please either create a free account or use the Guest Login to enter the site.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

Summer Entrepreneurship Academy - McCombs School of Business

Consumer Behavior - Mintel

Psychographics:

Analysis of consumer lifestyles to create a detailed customer profile. Market researchers conduct psychographic research by asking consumers to agree or disagree with activities, interests, and opinions statements. (BusinessDictionary.com)

MINTEL: INSIGHTS - Expert Analysis

MINTEL: ANALYTICS - Consumer Data

How to view selected "Data Variables".

New Project - Select target area

Select one or more “seed” variables - # Total Population

Create Project - view map

Select "Ranking" right-hand side of page to view data variables.

Create Project - view map

Select "Ranking" right-hand side of page in order to view data variables selected.