Modern and Contemporary China

Unlimited users.

China Statistical Data provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels.

Unlimited users.

晚清期刊全文数据库includes Chinese language journals of all subjects published 1833-1911. 302 journal titles are covered. The database is not truly full-text, but images of articles.

晚清期刊全文数据库 is one of Shanghai Library’s "全国报刊索引" databases. UT has access to two databases in 全国报刊索引: 晚清期刊全文数据库, 1833-1911 and 民国時期期刊全文数据库, 1911-1949.

Unlimited users.

An online streaming video collection of nearly 600 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. Offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection curated by film scholars and critics, viewers can explore the impact of globalization and urbanization on people’s everyday lives throughout the greater Asian region. Twenty-four countries across the region are represented, with a strong concentration on China, India, Iran, South Korea, and Southeast Asia.

Unlimited users.

Mobilizing East Asia contains English-language newspapers, magazines, pamphlets and books from East Asia from the turn of the twentieth century to the 1950s. The collection includes titles such as the Hongkong News, Japan Times Weekly, Nippon Times Weekly , Manchurian Daily News, and Trans-Pacific Online

Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.

Unlimited user.

British diplomatic reports. A collection of reports established as an integrated series by R. L. Jarman, F.R.G.S. The documents are listed in detail at the front of each volume and source references given for the benefit of scholars.

10 users.

The People’s Republic of China (PRC) National History Database consists of 300 titles containing over 60,000 illustrations. The database carries authoritative materials on the economic, social, cultural and political developments since the founding of the PRC.

Unlimited users.

Full texts of 3,000+ titles (and growing) of ancient books, in tens of thousands of volumes, annotated and punctuated. Books are published mostly by Beijing Zhonghua Shu ju, but also by other publishers of classic titles.

Unlimited users.

Archive provides insight into how communist, socialist, and far-left groups and figures saw themselves and the world around them during the major political and social events that occurred in the twentieth century. The primary sources in this collection come from multiple regions, offering the opportunity for a comparative study of left-wing thinking and government ideology.

Unlimited users.

British diplomatic reports. These volumes provide an extensive and reliable research source for study of a 100-year period of Taiwanese history between 1861 and 1960.

1 user.

The Annotated Bibliography of Literature in Chinese Translation chronologically documents historical sources of Chinese translation in literary journals, 1896–1949. It includes times of publication and bibliographic information, and provides full-text access to the primary sources, providing comprehensive access to the historical phenomena related to Chinese literary translation.

Unlimited users.

Updated monthly. Contains historical materials related to the political movements in China 1949-1976: Chinese Communist Party documents, speeches and writings by major party leaders and media commentaries. Users can browse by subject categories and date. It is also searchable by author, keyword and organization. Search interface in both English and Chinese: results in Chinese.

Unlimited users.

Digital collection reviews U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and analyzes the significance of the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, China's human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990. It contains primary source documents relating to the demonstrations which occurred throughout China from mid-April through June 1989, focusing particularly on Tiananmen Square. These primary source materials include public mail, memoranda, reports, cables, meeting notes, and news clippings. They provide a day-by-day account of events across China during this time.