Taiwan Studies Guide

Includes records of local council meetings from 1950 to the present.

Digital archives of the Taiwan Provincial Consultative Council, dating back to 1946. Includes documents, communiques, proceedings, and visuals. For access please contact zhijia@uw.edu.

This includes (1) search engines for three primary document databases (全文資料庫): 淡新檔案, 明清臺灣行政檔案;,古契書; and (2) research tools (研究工具集), including a calendrical converter, a table of Qing official titles in Taiwan, and a weights and measures table. Created by National University of Taiwan.

Full-text searchable digital collection of personal writings, clan and community documents, and the archives of private and public organizations. Produced by the Institute of Taiwan History, Academia Sinica. Personal registration required.

Includes archival administrative and judicial documents from Danshui 淡水, Taibei 臺北 and Xinzhu 新竹 for the period 1776-1895, that is the period of Qing rule preceding Japanese colonization. They are valuable for the study of jurisprudence, local administration, society, and the economy, especially relating to the Hakka. The documents, whose originals are held by National Taiwan University, are provided in both facsimile and searchable full text form. The database also provides text analysis tools. Produced by the Executive Yuan's Taiwan Hakka Culture Development Center, Hakka Affairs Council 行政院客家委員會文化發展中心 and National Taiwan University 國立臺灣大學.

Selections from a collection of contracts copied and archived by the office of the Governor-General of Taiwan, which represented Japanese colonial rule in Taiwan (1895-1945). The contracts selected for this database, numbering over 12,000, are those with annotations designating the administrative units (bao 堡 or zhuang 庄) from which the contracts originated.

Full-text searchable database of Taiwanese diaries. Produced by the Institute of Taiwan History, Academia Sinica. Individual registration is required.