LibGuides: Native American and Indigenous Studies: Indigenous Language Instruction & Revitalization

Language Instruction

Aymara Collection
Aymara Collection is comprised of archival and published texts as well as recorded sounds and images related to the Aymara language
Caseidyneën Saën – Learning Together
Colonial Valley Zapotec Teaching Materials
CHQETA'MAJ LE QACH’AB’AL K’ICHE’! A Beginner to Advanced Level K'iche' Online Course
Chqe’tamaj le qach’ab’al K’iche’! is a set of beginner online course materials for K’iche’, a Mayan language of Guatemala. This will be the first full online set of course materials of any Mayan language. Available in English and Español
Early Nahuatl Library
Early Nahuatl-language resources (ca.1540-1825), combining those found in Mesoamerica with those the United States and Europe
Mesolore
Bilingual resource for scholars and students of Mesoamerica includes indigenous documents, an interactive atlas, commentaries and tutorials on indigenous writing and culture
NAHUATLAHTOLLI: A Beginner to Advanced Level Nahuatl Online Course
This self-paced course is based on the Nahuatl variant from the Huasteca of Veracruz that is spoken in Chicontepec, Veracruz, Mexico. Available in English and Español
Talking Dictionaries of Latin America
Teaching Indigenous Languages
Links to organizations, projects, institutes and other resources relating to a broad range of indigenous languages
Ticha: A Digital Text Explorer for Colonial Zapotec
Ticha allows users to access and explore many interlinked layers of texts from a corpus of Colonial Valley Zapotec manuscripts and printed books, including images of the original documents, transcriptions, translations, and linguistic analysis, including morphological interlinearization.
Tlalocan
Peer-reviewed journal specializing in the documentation of oral tradition sources and texts in native languages of Mexico, as well as languages of Guatemala and the southwestern United States that are linguistically related.

Language Revitalization - Online Resources

Cree Literacy Network
A network dedicated to Cree language preservation and revitalization, highlighting the essential connection between Cree literacy and a comprehensive understanding of Cree history, culture, living traditions, and ancient rituals. See an associated language resource from our library collection, âhkami-Nêhiyawêtân: Let's Keep Speaking Cree
FirstVoices
FirstVoices is a group of web-based tools and services designed to support Aboriginal people engaged in language archiving, language teaching & culture revitalization.
IDIEZ
IDIEZ A.C. is an organization that promotes research, teaching and revitalization of the Nahuatl language (site en Español)
Selected Resources on Native American Language Renewal
important literature on Indigenous language revitalization with an emphasis on the United States of America along with a list of organizations supporting language revitalization
The Ways
Online educational resource features videos, interactive maps, and digital media exploring contemporary Great Lakes Native culture and language.

Databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences
Monthly updates, with about 14,000 new records added a year. Indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.

Language Revitalization - Books

A Contested Caribbean Indigeneity: Language, Social Practice, and Identity within Puerto Rican Taíno Activism. by Sherina Feliciano-Santos
Publication Date: 2021
Indigenous Language Revitalization in the Americas by Serafín M. Coronel-Molina; Teresa L. McCarty (Editors)
Publication Date: 2016
Indigenous Youth and Multilingualism
Publication Date: 2013
Language and Revolutionary Magic in the Orinoco Delta by Juan Luis Rodriguez
Publication Date: 2021
Talking Indian: Identity and Language Revitalization in the Chickasaw Renaissance by Jenny L. Davis
Publication Date: 2018