Step 4: Dig Deeper using Library search tools and specialized sources - UGS 302: Modern Day Slavery - Prof. Busch-Armendariz - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

What you know so far

Hopefully by exploring the company website, Googling and looking in the news, you have a sense of what the company's beliefs or activities regarding forced labor in their supply chain and a sense of where their might be forced labor in your supply chain. Now let's dig deeper into the forced labor using scholarly/peer-reviewed articles, books and government documents.

Remember! You may not find sources specifically about your product but instead you'll have to make connections between what you do know about your product, such as an ingredient or the location of manufacturing, and what you learn about how that ingredient is mined/grown, etc. or how labor practices work in that country.

Find Articles and Books

Libraries Search Box
Search across a lot of what the Libraries has in print and electronically. Includes articles, books and ebooks.

After you search, use the categories on the left to narrow your search (ex: available online or peer-reviewed journals)

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use GoogleScholar through this link or the link on the Libraries home page to get access to Libraries subscriptions rather than hitting a paywall
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

These discipline-specific library article databases let you do a more focused search. Most of the results will also come up in the main Library Search Box but may be buried because of the amount of results.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Across discplines and includes scholarly journal, magazine and newspaper articles
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Try searches like supply chain AND cocoa OR chocloate AND workers OR labor, inserting your own product in place of cocoa OR chocolate
Updated monthly. A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.
Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Across disciplines and all scholarly
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
PAIS This link opens in a new window
Public affairs and public policy
Updated monthly. Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche. More than 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year. Includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. At completion of this conversion, the PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social sciences
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources.

Books and ebooks will come up in the Libraries search box, along with articles. If you want to search for books and ebooks without everything else coming up, use the Library Catalog.

Library Catalog
Search for items in print in the Libraries and ebooks. Same as the Books & Media link on the Libraries home page.

f you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click Find it at UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click Get a Scan to have the article emailed to you.

Find Information about the Market Value and Industry

You can find out how much money there is to be made from your product or in the industry which is especially helpful if you are using an economic lens in your paper.

Useful sources include information about the value of the market currently, growth trends in the market and consumer demand over time and growth trend in the amount of product being produced to meet that demand.

Statista This link opens in a new window
search for your product and find graphs and charts about the market and consumer demand
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
While historical and time series data are not a focus of Statista, the metadata about each table provides all the necessary information to go to the table’s source, where historical information may be available.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Go to the Companies/Markets tab and look up your company. If you scroll down you'll see relevant market reports.
Log out when you're done because only 4 people can use it at once.
Updated daily. A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.
This database was formerly called Dow Jones Interactive.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Find industry overviews, and information about products and companies in the US and globally.
Contains 700+ industry research reports and offers the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
IBISWorld’s industry risk rating reports are intended to be used alongside financial statement analysis to provide a full forward-looking picture for strategic planners, bankers and aspiring industry entrants. These US industry risk rating determine how much risk an industry will face over the next 18 months by assessing the operating conditions for companies in the industry.
Note: IBISWorld promotes reports on the Web that they either plan to or are willing to write. If someone purchases one of these reports, then IBISWorld will produce the report and include it in our package.

IM a Librarian for Research Help

Chat With Us

EID login required

Find Government and UN Documents

TIP Report (US Dept of State)
Look up the country at the beginning of your supply chain in the Trafficking in Persons report.
US Dept of Labor Bureau of International Labor Affairs
Find your country to get information about the state of child and forced labor.
US Embassies in Other Countries
Find your country and then go to the US Embassy page. Under "Our Relationship," choose "Official Reports" and you may find a Human Rights report (in addition to the TIP Report).
UN High Commission on Human Rights
Click on your country to find a page with links to documents from the UN. These include periodic reviews about human rights that give insight into labor issues.
Texas Laws
Includes labor laws
State Labor Laws