Skip to Main Content
Workshops by Topic
Workshops by Topic
Digital Text Processing
- Digitization, Digital Projects, and Copyright Issues
- Discuss common copyright issues related to digitizing materials and creating digital projects. Scenarios and questions will be addressed during the session. (spring 2024).
- Presenters: Gina Bastone and Colleen Lyon
- Annotating Audio and Video with AudiAnnotate
- This workshop will introduce the AudiAnnotate workflow, which connects existing best-of-breed, open source tools for AV management (Aviary), annotation (such as Audacity and OHMS), public code and document repositories (GitHub), and the AudiAnnotate web application for creating and sharing IIIF manifests and annotations.
- Presenters: Tanya Clement, Kayleigh Voss
- Introduction to Annotating Audio and Video with AudiAnnotate
- Learn to annotate audio and video files using tools like Audacity, IIIF, and GitHub for publishing and sharing annotation projects. (Spring 2023).
- Presenter: Trent Wintermeier
- Introduction to Recogito
- Learn how to use Recogito for semantic annotation and document tagging, useful for mapping relationships and collaboration with research.
- Presenters: Miriam Santana and Willem Borkgren
- Introduction to Optical Character Recognition (OCR)
- Introduces OCR and tools like Google Docs and Tesseract for making digitized documents machine-readable. (Spring 2024)
- Presenters: Dale J. Correa, Mercedes Morris, Talya Stanke
- OCR Basics with Transkribus
- Learn how to use the web-based tool Transkribus to transform physical items into searchable text, covering printed and handwritten documents. (Fall 2024).
- Presenters: Kiana Fekette and Karla Roig
Digital Exhibit
- Getting Started with Omeka
- Introduction to Omeka for creating digital archives and exhibitions. (Fall 2023).
- Presenter: TBD
- Reclaim Hosting Part One: Introduction to Reclaim Hosting/Domain of One's Own
- Adam Rabinowitz is a leader at the University of Texas at Austin in getting started with Reclaim Hosting/Domain of One's Own. Domain of One's Own is a space where UT staff, faculty, and students can sign up for their own subdomain and dashboard where they can install many different open source applications, including Wordpress, Omeka, and Scalar. Adam will provide a basic overview of the platform and cover some of the most important things you need to get started working with Reclaim Hosting/Domain of One's Own.
- Presenter: Adam Rabinowitz
- Reclaim Hosting Part Two: Starting a Project in a Domain of One's Own: Setting up Omeka
- This workshop will focus on the practical use of the Domain of One's Own platform to set up an online project, using Omeka as an example. The session will draw on expertise of various Omeka users and will involve sample datasets drawn from online exhbiits developed in undergraduate courses at the University of Texas at Austin.
- Presenters: Adam Rabinowitz and Alyssa Guzman
- Getting Started with Scalar
- Overview of Scalar, a free, open-source publishing platform for long-form, born-digital, and media-rich scholarship. Learn how to build your Scalar site. (Spring 2024).
- Presenter: Miriyam E. Judd
- Introduction to the Scalar Platform, A Digital Exhibition Tool
- Learn the basics of Scalar, a tool for creating digital exhibitions by combining media and text. (Spring 23 & Fall 23)
- Presenter: Eden Ewing
- Introduction to StoryMaps
- Learn how to create digital exhibits using maps, images, videos, and text with StoryMaps. (Fall 23).
- Presenter: Karina Sanchez
Computational Text Analysis
- Basic Textual Analysis with GPT 4.0
- Demonstrating basic use cases for GPT 4.0 in text analysis, including Python for topic modeling and sentiment analysis. (Fall 24)
- Presenter: Kameron Dunn
- Introduction to Text Analysis for Non-English Languages
- A focus on text analysis techniques and challenges for non-English materials, with hands-on exercise using Python. (Fall 23).
- Presenter: Ian Goodale
- Visualizing Scottish Witchcraft Data with Python
- Use Python to explore and present data from 4,000 people accused of witchcraft in 16th-18th century Scotland. (Spring 23).
- Presenters: Trent Wintermeier, Allison Pujol, Amarainie Marquez
- Social Network Analysis in the Humanities
- Learn the principles of Social Network Analysis (SNA) with written texts using Python and Google CoLab. (Spring 23).
- Presenter: Luis F. Avilés González
- Introduction to Text Analysis Using Python
- Learn the basics of computational text analysis using Python. (Fall 24).
- Presenters: Ian Goodale and Karina Sánchez
Visualization and Computational Programming
- Introduction to Coding in Rust
- Introduction to Rust programming language and its applications in digital humanities. (Fall 24).
- Presenter: Ian Goodale
- Interactive Writing in Twine
- Introduction to Twine, a tool for creating interactive narratives, including decision trees and interactive text. (Spring 24).
- Presenter: Megan Gilbert
- QGIS: The Basics and Getting Started
- Introduction to QGIS for developing spatial imagery and creating maps. (Spring 23).
- Presenters: Taylor Ham and Cullan Bendig
More Recordings...
- Working with APIs: An Introduction to Application Programming Interfaces
- Learn the basics of APIs: What they are, how you can use them, and why they're useful. We'll review some popular APIs and various tools and approaches to working with them, then dive into a hands-on session to apply our new knowledge. All experience levels are welcome, although this workshop is primarily aimed at beginners.
- Presenter: Ian Goodale
- Data Transformation with OpenRefine
- Interested in using a dataset in your next big untitled research project? Would you currently describe your data as "chaotic," "messy," or "sheer mayhem"? Cringe no longer and come learn about OpenRefine, a powerful (and free) tool for data cleaning and transformation. Through hands-on activities, we will go through the basics of OpenRefine, such as identifying inconsistencies and patterns, tracking changes and transforming data en masse with both simple clicks and using unique expressions. Additionally, this workshop will teach the importance of data preparation, show you where to find databases by discipline and provide a library of resources for your OpenRefine journey.
- Presenter: Adriana Cásarez
- Data Mining with Pymarc
- Presenter: Ali Gunnels
- This workshop will provide an overview of how to utilize Pymarc, an open-source Python program, to data mine digital collections. Participants are not required to have a background in programming. During this workshop, participants will learn how to download metadata from digital collections hosted on the Internet Archive and how to use Pymarc to gather collection-wide bibliographic information from the data. At the end of the workshop. attendees will have an understanding of how to use Pymarc and why Pymarc is a beneficial tool for humanities research.
