10/8, 12:00-1:00pm- Publishing Humanities Data
10/29, 12:00-1:00pm- Data Mining with Pymarc
11/5, 12:00-1:00pm- Creating Digital Collections with Open Source Software
To receive workshop announcements, join the UT Digital Humanities email list.
This workshop will provide an overview of recommended practices for humanities data preparation, peer review, and publication through the lens of the Journal of Open Humanities Data (JOHD), an open data journal dedicated to humanities research. Participants will learn about humanities data creation and publication with reflection on the overall framework of “humanities data” from the point of view of equity, access, and inclusion. At the end of this workshop, attendees will have an understanding of how to prepare their data, locate appropriate repositories and journals, and participate in the peer review of humanities data with JOHD.
Instructor: Dale Correa, Liaison for Middle Eastern Studies and History Coordinator
Digital Humanities Workshop: Data Mining with Pymarc
This workshop will provide an overview of how to utilize Pymarc, an open-source Python program, to data mine digital collections. Participants are not required to have a background in programming. During the workshop, participants will learn how to download metadata from digital collections hosted on the Internet Archive and how to use Pymarc to gather collection-wide bibliographic information from that data. At the end of the workshop, attendees will have an understanding of how to use Pymarc and why Pymarc is a beneficial tool for humanities research.
Instructor- Ali Gunnels
Digital Humanities Workshop: Creating Digital Collections with Open Source Software
November 5th, 12:00-1:00pm
Digital collections platforms allow scholars to create new works in the form of online collections, archives, digital museum exhibits, multimedia-rich books and more. This workshop will provide a comparison of several popular open source options for creating digital collections and exhibits, including Omeka, Scalar, and Jekyll sites. We will discuss planning ahead for project sustainability, project hosting options, and costs.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.