Browse by workshop topic:
Annotating Audio and Video with AudiAnnotate- Recording
Instructors- Tanya Clement, Kayleigh Voss
Do you have annotations for audio and video (events, oral histories, podcasts!) you want to share online for classes or scholarship or creative projects? AudiAnnotate [website: http://hipstas.org/awe/] is a free and lightweight tool and workflow to publish and share annotation projects, editions, and exhibits with audio and video files using IIIF and GitHub Pages.
This workshop will introduce the AudiAnnotate workflow, which connects existing best-of-breed, open source tools for AV management (Aviary), annotation (such as Audacity and OHMS), public code and document repositories (GitHub), and the AudiAnnotate web application for creating and sharing IIIF manifests and annotations. Libraries, archives, and museums benefit from this workflow as it facilitates metadata generation, is built on W3C web standards in IIIF for sharing online scholarship, and generates static web pages that are lightweight and easy to preserve and harvest. Scholars and the public benefit as the workflow leverages IIIF and the web to allow users to re-present AV artifacts made available by institutional repositories. Examples in the workshop will include how to annotate and present AV materials made available online by the Harry Ransom Center.
Introduction to Annotating Audio and Video with AudiAnnotate- Recording
Working with APIs: An Introduction to Application Programming Interfaces- Recording
Instructor: Ian Goodale
Learn the basics of APIs: what they are, how you can use them, and why they're useful. We'll review some popular APIs and various tools and approaches to working with them, then dive into a hands-on session to apply our new knowledge. All experience levels are welcome, although this workshop is aimed primarily at beginners.
Data Transformation with OpenRefine- Recording
Instructor: Adriana Cásarez
Description: Interested in using a dataset in your next big untitled research project? Would you currently describe your data as “chaotic”, “messy”, or “sheer mayhem”? Cringe no longer and come learn about OpenRefine, a powerful (and free!) tool for data cleaning and transformation. Through hands-on activities, we will go through the basics of OpenRefine, such as identifying inconsistencies and patterns, tracking changes and transforming data en masse with both simple clicks and unique expressions. Additionally, this workshop will teach the importance of data preparation, show you where to find datasets by discipline and provide a library of resources for your OpenRefine journey.
Data Mining with Pymarc- Recording
Instructor- Ali Gunnels
This workshop will provide an overview of how to utilize Pymarc, an open-source Python program, to data mine digital collections. Participants are not required to have a background in programming. During the workshop, participants will learn how to download metadata from digital collections hosted on the Internet Archive and how to use Pymarc to gather collection-wide bibliographic information from that data. At the end of the workshop, attendees will have an understanding of how to use Pymarc and why Pymarc is a beneficial tool for humanities research.
Visualizing Scottish Witchcraft Data with Python- Recording
Instructors: Trent Wintermeier, Allison Pujol, Amarainie Marquez
Publishing Humanities Data- Recording
Instructor: Dale Correa
This workshop will provide an overview of recommended practices for humanities data preparation, peer review, and publication through the lens of the Journal of Open Humanities Data (JOHD), an open data journal dedicated to humanities research. Participants will learn about humanities data creation and publication with reflection on the overall framework of “humanities data” from the point of view of equity, access, and inclusion. At the end of this workshop, attendees will have an understanding of how to prepare their data, locate appropriate repositories and journals, and participate in the peer review of humanities data with JOHD.
Creating Digital Collections with Open Source Software- Recording
Instructor: Allyssa Guzman
Digital collections platforms allow scholars to create new works in the form of online collections, archives, digital museum exhibits, multimedia-rich books and more. This workshop will provide a comparison of several popular open source options for creating digital collections and exhibits, including Omeka, Scalar, and Jekyll sites. We will discuss planning ahead for project sustainability, project hosting options, and costs.
Reclaim Hosting Part One: Introduction to Reclaim Hosting/Domain of One’s Own- Recording
Instructor: Adam Rabinowitz
Adam Rabinowitz is a leader at UT in getting started with Reclaim Hosting/Domain of One’s Own. Domain of One’s Own is a space where UT staff, faculty, and students can sign up for their own subdomain and dashboard where they can install many different open source applications, including Wordpress, Omeka, and Scalar. Adam will provide a basic overview of the platform and cover some of the most important things you need to get started working with Reclaim Hosting/Domain of One’s Own.
This workshop was co-hosted by the Faculty Innovation Center.
Reclaim Hosting Part Two: Starting a Project in a Domain of One's Own: Setting up Omeka- Recording
Instructors: Adam Rabinowitz and Allyssa Guzman
This workshop will focus on the practical use of the Domain of One's Own platform to set up an online project, using Omeka as an example. The session will draw on the expertise of various Omeka users and will involve sample datasets drawn from online exhibits developed in undergraduate courses at UT.
Introduction to the Scalar Platform, a Digital Exhibition Tool- Recording
Instructor: Eden Ewing
Introduction to Digital Humanities at UT- Recording
There are many different initiatives and organizations working in the area of digital humanities at UT. Whether you're new or you're interested in hearing updates on what has been happening across campus, this workshop is an opportunity to hear from a panel of guests will present about the diverse and varied ways to participate in the digital humanities at UT Austin. There will be time left at the end of the presentations for audience members to speak. DH at UT is a growing community, and if we missed inviting you to present, please come anyway and let us know what you're working on!
Presenting Geospatial Research- Recording
Instructor- Bryce McLin
Interested in exploring your research through a geospatial lens? Join us for an introductory workshop on how to use ArcGIS Online and Story Map to visualize and analyze your primary sources or data. The instructor will briefly introduce the spatial turn in the humanities, highlight projects that use geospatial analysis to explain key concepts, and go over the basics for creating a geospatial dataset. Participants will then map sample datasets. No previous experience needed and all disciplines are welcome.
This workshop was co-hosted by the LLILAS Benson Digital Scholarship Office.
QGIS: The Basics and Getting Started- Recording
Instructors: Taylor Ham and Cullan Bendig
Mapping Historic Austin: How to Georeference and Geocode in QGIS- Recording
Instructor: John Erard
The use of geographic information system (GIS) software is emerging as a principal computational methodology in humanities research. Many GIS-driven digital humanities workflows involve the remaking of analog materials containing spatial information—such as maps, images, gazetteers, and directories—into a digital format amenable to computer modeling, processing, and display. This workshop will focus on two common methods used to create geospatial data from digitized materials: georeferencing and geocoding. The tutorial will be done in a popular, open-source GIS software called “QGIS” and will employ data from Texas Digital Humanities’ ongoing research project.
This workshop was co-hosted by Texas Student Digital Humanities.
Natural Language Processing for Non-English Texts - Recording
Instructors: Ian Goodale and Madeline Goebel
This workshop will serve as a general introduction to using natural language processing (NLP) with non-English languages. Instructors will provide an overview of NLP technologies and methodologies, then show examples of how to use Python to perform NLP on texts. All levels of experience are welcome! No prior knowledge of NLP or coding is required to participate.
Transkribus For Beginners: Using AI To Transcribe Digitized Documents- Recording
Instructor- Eduardo H Gorobets Martins
In this workshop we will explore the first steps in order to use Transkribus - a software that uses AI to transcribe digitized documents.
This workshop was co-hosted by the LLILAS Benson Digital Scholarship Office.
Visualizing Networks with Onodo- Recording
Instructors: Bryce McLin and Roberto Young
This workshop will introduce participants to social network visualization using Onodo, a free web-based platform. Instructors will demonstrate how to extract, structure, and visualize a social network from a published index of Mexico City's municipal acts dating 1601 to 1620.
This workshop was co-hosted by the LLILAS Benson Digital Scholarship Office.
Social Network Analysis in the Humanities- Recording
Instructor: Luis F. Avilés González
Network Visualization Graphs- Recording
Instructor: Karina Sánchez
The workshop will demonstrate how to create a network visualization graph by using tools such as Onodo and Gephi. The session will cover data such as notes,edges, source and target. Participants will be able to network visualization graph by using a sample dataset.
This workshop was co-hosted by the LLILAS Benson Digital Scholarship Office.
Collaborative Digital Scholarship Using FromThePage
October 30, 2020, 12:00-1:00pm
Instructor: Bryce McLin
This workshop will provide an overview of FromThePage, a digital tool for collaborative scholarship based on textual sources. Participants will actively explore the platform using materials from the Benson Latin American Collection. By the end of the workshop, participants will have a better understanding of FromThePage’s features, including its transcription, translation, indexing, and annotations capabilities.
This workshop was co-hosted by the LLILAS Benson Digital Scholarship Office.
Transkribus For Beginners: Using AI To Transcribe Digitized Documents- Recording
September 23, 2022, 12-1
In this workshop we will explore the first steps in order to use Transkribus - a software that uses AI to transcribe digitized documents.
Instructor- Eduardo H Gorobets Martins
This workshop was co-hosted by the LLILAS Benson Digital Scholarship Office.
3/31- DH Workshop: Collaborating on manuscripts transcription on FromThePage- Recording
12:00-1:00pm
Instructor- Abisai Perez Zamarripa
This workshop introduces a collaborative platform that contains manuscript collections from university archives and allows people to transcribe and post documents for transcription. The session will focus particularly on the primary sources provided by LLILAS Benson Latin American Studies and Collections. The workshop is open to all people interested in archival research.
This workshop is co-hosted by the LLILAS Benson Digital Scholarship Office.
Introduction to Editing Wikipedia
October 2, 2020, 12:00-1:00pm
Instructor: Gina Bastone
Wikipedia is one of the most used websites, with billions of visitors each day. But on English Wikipedia, only a small minority of users edit the site regularly. Wikipedia was created to democratize knowledge and allow anyone to edit, but few people actually do it! This workshop aims to empower UT students, faculty and staff to contribute their knowledge and scholarship to Wikipedia articles. This workshop will cover the basics of how to create an account, the basic how-to’s of editing, and an overview of research and citation for article publication.
Workshop recording available upon request. Please contact Allyssa Guzman.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.