LibGuides: ARH 304: Issues in Visual Culture / Nelson: How to find known sources for this project

Bibliography for your assignment

Your assignment includes an indispensable bibliography. How do you find those sources in our collections?

For items on reserve (marked FAL Reserves), you must appear in person at the checkout desk at the Fine Arts Library and request the book. Bring the assignment with you or, at the very least, the call numbers for the books you want to check out (listed on the assignment).

Find articles from citations

As you research, you may come across a citation for a source that you want to find. Here's how.

First, you need to decide if something is a book or an article.

A citation for a book will have the author, the book title (often in italics) and the publisher. It will also have a city name where the publisher is:

Bursik, Robert J., Jr. and Harold G. Grasmick. 1993. Neighborhoods and Crime: The Dimensions of Effective Community Control. New York: Lexington Books.

A citation for an article will usually be longer. There will be the author(s) name, the title of the article (usually in quotation marks) and then the name of the publication (journal, magazine, or newspaper) (usually in italics) the article came from. It will also have page numbers as well as a volume and issue number:

Aseltine, Robert H., Jr. and Ronald C. Kessler. 1993. “Marital Disruption and Depression in a Community Sample.” Journal of Health and Social Behavior 34(3):237-51.

You can search for the book or article in our catalog on www.lib.utexas.edu simply by pasting all or part of the citation into the search bar. The results will be grouped by material type.
If that search gives you trouble, try the same thing in Google Scholar - if you are on campus or you use the link below, you will be recognized as a UT affiliate (though you may be asked to sign in with your eid and password). If you start with this search and it fails, try the library website, above.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use this link to access Google Scholar, especially if you are off campus.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.