LibGuides: Social Work Research: Trabajo Social

Recommended Resources

Toolkit for Counseling Spanish-Speaking Clients Enhancing Behavioral Health Services by Lorraine T. Benuto
Publication Date: 2017
Trabajo social familiar by Nidia Aylwin A., María Olga Solar S.
Publication Date: 2002
Trabajo social y descolonialidad: epistemologías insurgentes para la intervención en lo social by María Eugenia Hermida, Paula Andrea Meschini
Publication Date: 2017
Solving Latino Psychosocial and Health Problems by Kurt C. Organista
Publication Date: 2007
Dementia Care with Black and Latino Families by Delia González Sanders; Richard H. Fortinsky
Publication Date: 2011
Work and welfare among Latino immigrants in California and Texas by Gary P. Freeman, Maria T. Hurtado-Ortiz, and Luis F.B. Plascencia
Publication Date: 2000
Cultural Considerations in Latino American Mental Health by Harvette Grey; Brittany N. Hall-Clark
Publication Date: 2015

Comunitania: Revista Internacional de Trabajo Social y Ciencias Sociales
Comunitania. Revista Internacional de Trabajo Social y Ciencias Sociales, es una revista académica, que tiene dos objetivos básicos. En primer lugar, publicar artículos de la máxima calidad y relevancia científica, en el ámbito del Trabajo Social y las Ciencias Sociales. En segundo lugar, convertirse en un foro de debate en el que se puedan abordar los principales retos para la investigación en el ámbito del Trabajo Social y las Ciencias Sociales.
Trabajo Social Global
Revista de investigaciones en intervención social, es una revista electrónica de periodicidad semestral. Publica artículos con los resultados de las principales investigaciones a escala internacional en los temas clave del trabajo social, concebido como aquel campo de acción profesional, de formación y de investigación centrado en los problemas y en las políticas sociales, que aporta perspectivas y maneras de intervención diferenciadas de otras profesiones y saberes de la acción.

Is Social Work Still Racist? A Content Analysis of Recent Literature
Corley, N., & Young, S. (2018).
Providing social services in a new immigrant settlement city: A qualitative inquiry
Negi, N., Maskell, E., Goodman, M., Hooper, J., Roberts, J., & Negi, N. (2018).
Social Work with Latino Immigrants: Contextual Approach to Acculturative Stress among Cuban, Mexican and Puerto Rican Women
Bekteshi, V., Van Hook, M., Levin, J., Kang, S., & Van Tran, T. (2017).
Planificación estratégica en la organización y gestión de servicios sociales: la transformación administrativa en el trabajo social
Zavala-Mendoza, E. (2017).
Latino Critical Perspective in Social Work
Kiehne, E. (2016).
Un Grito: For Increased Latin@ Content and a Transformed Social Work Curriculum
Chandler, S., Aguirre, B., & Salazar, R. (2014).

Databases

Latin America in Video This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Provides access to documentaries produced in Latin America, by some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The documentaries cover Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and more. The collection’s materials are presented in their original language with abstracts and indexing in Spanish, Portuguese, and English.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
1980 - present. Unlimited users.
Provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to
Users may also make isolated clips from the videos and save them in a free account available for registration set up within the database.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
This streaming service has a catalog of over 30,000 titles covering various educational topics and feature films for some 800 producers including Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education, California Newsreel, PBS and others.
Titles streamed by Kanopy are available either directly from the library catalog or from the UT Kanopy interface linked above. Some titles on the UT Kanopy interface are not immediately available to UT community for streaming. Those titles for which we do not hold streaming rights could be requested by filling in a request form. This form would appear on your screen and forwarded to a staff member for consideration. Given our limited funds, we emphasize study and research needs when making purchase decisions.

Documentaries

Unnatural causes. Becoming American by Bernal, Amador; Iton, Tony; Vega, William
Publication Date: 2014
The Forgotten Americans: Poverty on the Texas Border
Publication Date: 2000

COVID-19 Resources in Spanish

Información sobre COVID-19
from Austin.gov
CDC Printable Materials
Available in multiple languages, including Spanish
Our Favorite Spanish-Language Coronavirus Resources for Latinos!
from Salud America!

Language resources

The Bilingual Counselor's Guide to Spanish by Roberto Clemente; Roberto Swazo
Publication Date: 2013
Glosario de temas fundamentales en trabajo social by Carlos Eroles
Publication Date: 2005