LibGuides: Social Work Research: Policy & Government Documents

Resources for Policy Research

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Articles from legal journals and access to the Federal Register and US Statues and Codes.
Updated regularly. Provides a collection of legal periodicals, reproducing the original image of each article. Includes over 1,200 law review journals containing more than 600,000 articles from 21,000 volumes.

Also provides access to the following:
- Federal Register
- Statutes at Large (the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress, browseable by volume, popular name or treaty)
- U.S. Supreme Court Library
Access to this resource is funded by the Tarlton Law Library at the Jamail Center for Legal Research.

Restricted to current UT students, faculty and staff. Not available to Official UT Retirees
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from legal journals.
Updated regularly. A collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Covers current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment. Offers full text for nearly 250 international law journals. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal resources. For law journals, choose "Law Reviews" on the left and search by keyword.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Global Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Global Think Tanks provides access to more than 30 million pages of books, articles, working papers, reports, policy briefs, data sets, tables, charts, media, case studies, and statistical publications from thousands of policy organizations. Includes more than 100,000 publications from 650+ defunct and inactive think tanks.
North American City Reports This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
North American City Reports preserves the full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the six hundred largest cities in North America. It includes select materials from hundreds of related agencies and non-governmental organizations. The larger cities are monitored for added items weekly, others monthly.
PAIS This link opens in a new window
Articles from policy-related academic journals. Also includes documents, conferences proceedings and more.
Updated monthly. Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche. More than 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year. Includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. At completion of this conversion, the PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.

Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
4 users.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America. Includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, such as ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, and public policy.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
Latin American Newsstand This link opens in a new window
2005 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to 41 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries with complete articles in ASCII format. Includes papers from Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil. Content is in Spanish and Portuguese.
Key newspaper titles include El Universal, Mexico City's largest-selling newspaper; O Globo (Brazil); La Nacion (Argentina); and El Mercurio (Chile). Three business titles, El Economista (Mexico), Valor Economico (Brazil), and Portafolio (Colombia) are also important resources for researchers.
A complete title list is available.

Google News
Recent news aggregated from thousands of online news sources.

New York Times (Recent) This link opens in a new window
2008 - 3 months ago. Unlimited users.
Full-page images of The New York Times. Users can search PDF images of every part of every page, including full-text news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more, with keyword highlighting. Coverage begins in 2008 and goes up through the most recent issue, with a 90-day embargo.
More recent years are also available in other full text resources.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Choose "Cases" and then "Federal" OR "State" cases. Then search by keyword (case name or subjects).
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Google Scholar Case Search
Select "Case law" under the search box and then narrow to specific jurisdictions, if needed.
Court Listener
Free case law search tool
Find Law
Free case law search tool.

City of Austin: Code & Ordinances
City of Austin: Public Records Database
City of Austin: Strategic Planning
ATXN Video Archive
Videos of meetings and presentations from city meetings, presentations and announcements.

Texas Legislature

Texas Legislature Online: Track bills and legislation
Legislative Archive System: Archive of Texas Legislature, maintained by the Texas Legislative Reference Library
Texas Constitution & Statues

Agencies

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Federal government documents from 1789 to the present, including hearings, committee prints/reports/documents, Congressional Research Service reports and House and Senate reports/ documents.
Updated daily. Provides indexing of many Congressional publications, including Bills, Resolutions, Hearings, Committee Prints, Reports, Documents and Congressional Research Service Reports.
House and Senate Reports and Documents indexed in ProQuest Congressional (1817-1969) are available in full text in the Serial Set database. Our subscription to ProQuest Congressional does not include full text of the Serial Set.
Congressional Hearings after 2013 and House and Senate Documents and Reports indexed in ProQuest Congressional (1995 to present) are available in full text on Govinfo.gov site from the Government Printing Office.
Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Federal legislative histories with links to related congressional documents.
Updated regularly. Contains legislative histories and links to the related full-text Congressional documents of more than 18,000 federal laws enacted since 1929. The fully-searchable PDFs include full text of the public law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, and committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous publications that provide background information related to the making of the law.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Quick access to the Federal Register and US Statues and Codes.
Updated regularly. Provides a collection of legal periodicals, reproducing the original image of each article. Includes over 1,200 law review journals containing more than 600,000 articles from 21,000 volumes.

Also provides access to the following:
- Federal Register
- Statutes at Large (the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress, browseable by volume, popular name or treaty)
- U.S. Supreme Court Library
Access to this resource is funded by the Tarlton Law Library at the Jamail Center for Legal Research.

Restricted to current UT students, faculty and staff. Not available to Official UT Retirees

Congress.gov
The official online home for the US Congress. Search for current legislation, congressional testimony, committee reports and more.
Congressional Research Service Publications
Reports created to educate and support Congress in its legislative, oversight, and representational duties.

United Nations Digital Library This link opens in a new window
1946 - present. Unlimited.
The United Nations Digital Library currently provides access to over 862,000 UN publications including maps, images, voting data, speeches, and other documents such as resolutions and decisions, meeting records, administrative issuances, reports of sessional committees, and a variety of other statements. Issuing organizational bodies include the General Assembly, the Economic And Social Council, the International Court Of Justice, the Secretariat, the Security Council, the Economic Commissions, the Human Rights Bodies, and other various agencies. Most files are PDFs, and most documents are available in the six languages used for official UN communications. The Library is updated regularly and a “Search Guide” and “Search Tips” are available.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
1998 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Comprises 17 Studies by Themes for monographs and reports; all OECD books and papers published since 1998; and the OECD statistical datasets online, which cover over 80 countries with data going back to the 1960s.
Note: Datasets from the International Energy Agency (IEA) are not included in our subscription.
World Bank Publications This link opens in a new window
1946 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. An online collection of more than 130,000 World Bank documents and publications. Browsing or searching provides access to the documents in both text and downloadable PDF format.
The World Bank is one of the United Nations' specialized agencies, and is made up of 187 member countries. All World Bank publications and research working papers are now assigned with DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers).

National Conference of State Legislatures: Research
Summaries of policy issues and actions across the states.
Pew Research Center Archive
15,000+ reports, documents and presentations from the center.
Policy Commons
A digital library of global, non-partisan public policy research containing over 30,000 documents.
RAND Documents
Tens of thousands of RAND publications are available as free downloads, dating back to 1946.