Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

History

South Asian Studies

South Asian Studies

The South Asian Studies collection of the University of Texas Libraries comprises material covering the countries of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Afghanistan. The majority of the material in our collections was acquired through the P.L. 480 Program, and the South Asia Cooperative Acquisitions Program, both of which administrated by the Library of Congress, but there has also been significant additions through direct purchasing and gifts. We actively collect material in all formats. Our South Asian Collection also participates in cooperative collection development efforts, including the open access digital project through the SAMP Open Archives Initiative.

Our South Asian Languages Collection is numerically the second largest in the nation. It encompasses all South Asian languages although we currently actively collect material in Bengali, Hindi, Malayalam, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu. Among some of our most distinctive material are the collections in Malayalam, Sanskrit and Urdu, as well as the emerging collection of Popular and Pulp Fiction. On campus, the Harry Ransom Center houses archival and manuscript material of South Asian authors such as Mulk Raj Anand, Anita Desai, E.M. Forester, Zulfikar Ghose, William Jones, Rudyard Kipling, R.K. Narayan, and Rabindranath Tagore, among others.

The South Asian Collections supports and works most closely with the South Asia Institute and the Department of Asian Studies.

Recommended Resources

Loading ...

Internet Sources

Loading ...

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.