LibGuides: Company Research: Private Company Information

Data Axle
Investext

Please note that these are estimates due to the fact, private companies within the US are not required to file reports with the US Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC.gov).

Data Axle may provide the following information for private companies...

Business Expenditures
Business Size History: Ten years’ worth of Sales Volume By Year data.
Sales Volume

Data Axle This link opens in a new window
1996 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Contains basic directory information for more than 210 million U.S. residents and 14 million businesses in all zip code areas of the United States. Information includes name of business, address, telephone number, headquarters, branch and subsidiaries identification, SIC codes, yellow pages headings, ticker symbol, credit rating, number of employees, and estimated sales volume. Also includes some federal, state, and municipal offices.
Formerly known as ReferenceUSA.

Investext contains active and historical research reports from brokerages, investment banks and independent research firms around the globe including Barclays, Credit Suisse, Cowen & Company, J.P. Morgan, and Deutsche Bank.

Follow instructions below to find analyst reports for private companies and subsidiaries as well. For better results select NO DATA RANGE.

Private Companies & Subsidiaries

1. Select + sign next to Keywords in Search Criteria box

2. Select Search Headline or Search Whole Report from drop-down menu

3. Type Company Name

4. Select + sign next to Category in Search Criteria box

5. Type "Equity", then select

6. Click on Submit to see number of matches and then View to go to the search results page.

Investext This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Provides as full-text PDFs expert reports by investment bank and brokerage house equity analysts along with independent consulting and company research firms, covering publicly-traded companies and their industries worldwide. Also contains GlobalData SWOT analysis reports. This resource replaces Thomson ONE.

Researching Private Company Financials

Private Company Ratios:
Since private company financials are not disclosed, ratios can provide a benchmark for comparison and sizing the market.

**EStatement Studies includes Financial Ratios Benchmarks -- Comprehensive, detailed data on over 700 industries derived directly from financial statements.**

To locate your industry use the NAICS code, the link for the North American Industry Classification System is below.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)

Adopted in 1997,the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

EStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
Updated annually. The only source of composite performance metrics derived directly from the financial statements of financial institutions' borrowers and prospects. These financial statements come directly to RMA from member institutions, which get their data straight from their customers.
eStatement Studies includes two publications:
Financial Ratios Benchmarks -- Comprehensive, detailed data on over 700 industries derived directly from financial statements.
Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures includes:
- Probability of default estimates on a percentage scale, mapped to a .pd bond rating scale.
- Cash flow measures on a common-size percentage scale.
- Change in position, normalized, year over year, for eight financial statement line items.
- Data arrayed by asset and sales size.
- Trend data available for the past four years.

Company Research

Private Company Information

Please note that these are estimates due to the fact, private companies within the US are not required to file reports with the US Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC.gov).

Data Axle may provide the following information for private companies...

Business Expenditures

Business Size History: Ten years’ worth of Sales Volume By Year data.​

Sales Volume

EStatement Studies includes Financial Ratios Benchmarks -- Comprehensive, detailed data on over 700 industries derived directly from financial statements.

To locate your industry use the NAICS code, the link for the North American Industry Classification System is below.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)

Adopted in 1997,the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Business Size History: Ten years’ worth of Sales Volume By Year data.

**EStatement Studies includes Financial Ratios Benchmarks -- Comprehensive, detailed data on over 700 industries derived directly from financial statements.**