LLILAS Benson Digital Collections and Content

The Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America is a digital repository dedicated to the long-term preservation of multimedia resources in and about Indigenous languages of Latin America. Over 500 Indigenous languages are represented in the archive, and new collection materials are added regularly.

The AILLA LibGuide provides information about the mission and history of AILLA, as well as helpful content on how to use, navigate, and cite the digital repository and how to contribute (deposit) materials to the collection.

The Archivo Histórico de la Policía Nacional contains over 18 million pages of digitized records from the Guatemalan National Police from the late 19th century through 1996.

This site provides access to a range of audiovisual materials from the Human Rights Documentation Initiative. It contains geographically-diverse human rights-related materials, collected in collaboration with the HRDI's post-custodial partners.

The HRDI collections in Texas ScholarWorks contain a variety of scanned documents and publications related to human rights. These materials have been produced by human rights organizations, activists, and governments.

The University of Texas Libraries’ Human Rights Documentation Initiative Collection features fragile websites containing human rights documentation and related content from human rights organizations and advocates across the globe since 2009.

This LibGuide contains some of the HRDI's legacy website content and has been more recently updated.

This project digitized 192 deed books (libros de hijuelas) recording the state-wide privatization of Indigenous lands in 19th century Michoacán, Mexico. The vast majority of the material digitized is 19th century in origin and in manuscript form, though it includes a fair amount of cartographic information, also as well as some printed documents (laws, decrees etc). The collection hosted by the British Library's Endangered Archives Programme.

The Primeros Libros project seeks to digitize the first books published in the Americas before 1601, focusing initially on works published in Mexico in the 16th century. The project currently includes all of the 136 titles that are known to exist today contributed by over 30 partner institutions.

Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.

Note: Many public domain books are only accessible in the United States due to the differences in copyright law in different countries.

Search for Benson content under the original location of "The University of Texas" with full-text key word "Benson Latin American Collection".

Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

For Benson content, search under the series "Latino".