Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

U.S. History

This guide provides useful print and online resources to help people doing research in the History of the United States of America, defined broadly.

Briscoe Center for American History at UT Austin

How to Use the Briscoe

**The Briscoe Center is currently closed for walk-in access. See more information about current services here. **

Normal hours of operation for the reading room are 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday and 9:00 AM to 1:00PM on Saturday. You will need to request materials in your Aeon account at least 1 week in advance if materials are stored offsite. Otherwise, you may request materials when you arrive at the Center.

When you visit the Center, be sure to bring your ID.

Briscoe Subject Guides

Dolph Briscoe Center for American History

This archive focuses on collecting materials related to American history, especially for Texas and the American South. The Briscoe Center's archival collections contain manuscripts, photographs, audio and visual materials in many formats, and maps.

Search for resources housed in the Briscoe by using the TARO database below. The descriptions of material are noted in the "finding aids" that archives, libraries, and museums create to assist users in locating information in their collections. TARO helps users access physical archival material that requires an in person visit but there are some digitized archival collections.

Briscoe Center Digital Collections

The Briscoe Center houses a large number of collections on U.S. and Texas history. It's located on the Northeast end of campus, near the LBJ Presidential Library.

Browse and search the Briscoe Center's Digital Collections here.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.