Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

U.S. History

This guide provides useful print and online resources to help people doing research in the History of the United States of America, defined broadly.

Revolutions & Constitution

Recommended Databases

Also consider consulting this list of recommended databases for Pre-18th & 18th Century primary sources.

Open Access Resources

Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, 1774 to 1789 - Contains 277 documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.

Founder's Online - Correspondence and other writings of seven major shapers of the United States: George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison. Over 185,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.

George Washington Papers - The papers consist of approximately 77,000 items accumulated by Washington between 1745 and 1799, including correspondence, diaries, and financial and military records.

Massachusetts Historical Society - Collections include Adams family papers, diary of John Quincy Adams, revolutionary era newspapers, and more

National Archives: America's Founding Documents - Explore the original Declaration of Independence, Constitution and Bill of Rights online.

Papers of the War Department 1784-1800 - Digitized collection of 55,000 documents of the early War Department

Thomas Jefferson Papers, 1606 to 1827 - Dating from the early 1760s through his death in 1826, the Thomas Jefferson Papers consist mainly of his correspondence, but they also include his drafts of the Declaration of Independence, drafts of Virginia laws; his fragmentary autobiography; lists; drawings; and more.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.