A bibliography is list of bibliographic citations, (also called Works Cited, Literature Cited, Reference List) at the end of a journal article or book that lists the sources used by an author.
Bibliographies can also be research tools that bring together in one location (either print or electronic) citations from articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, primary materials, and other academic sources about a specific topic. That topic might be broad, such as "Medieval history" or very narrow, such as "Red-haired women mentioned in courtly literature."
Bibliographies can be useful for discovering additional sources for your research. Since they include many different types of sources, it is important to be able to identify the type of source from the citation, in order to locate it.
America and World War I: A Selected Annotated Bibliography of English-Language Sources by
America and World War I, the first volume in the new Routledge Research Guides to American Military Studies series, provides a concise, annotated guide to the vast amount of resources available on the Great War. With over 2,000 entries selected from a wide variety of publications, manuscript collections, databases, and online resources, this volume will be an invaluable research tool for students, scholars, and military history buffs alike. The wide range of topics covered include war films and literature, to civil-military relations, to women and war. Routledge Research Guides to American Military Studies will include concise, easy-to-use bibliographic volumes on different American military campaigns throughout history, as well as tackling timely subjects such as women in the military and terrorism.
American Foreign Relations since 1600 by
A thorough update of the standard bibliography of American foreign relations literature from colonial times to the present day.
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature by
The place to start to see what scholarship has been done on a topic and published up to 1995. Arranged by region and chronologically, and then further sub-divided. Every chapter has an introductory essay by a leading scholar. Each entry contains the relevant publication information and a signed annotation.
Reference Sources in History by
Fully annotated and completely updated_the most comprehensive guide to reference books in the field of history. Reference Sources in History catalogs atlases, encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, sourcebooks, bibliographies, and chronologies and makes sense of it all. Its broad scope and systematic organization make it an accessible, reliable resource for experienced and inexperienced researchers alike. Fully annotated and updated, the new edition summarizes hundreds of reference works on every conceivable subject in history_from ancient to modern, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. This edition also reflects the dramatic impact of the digital revolution on historical research by integrating a wide range of Internet and CD-ROM sources. Reference Sources in History is a time-saving alternative to searching the reference stacks or getting lost in an online thicket of dubious historical websites. This guide includes 900+ complete entries for reference works and provides complete bibliographic information for over 400 other works Descriptive annotations provide guidance to quality reference materials and offer a useful and time-saving alternative to research using the Internet Topical chapters and detailed index help readers locate the materials they need for research and allow for effective searches of more obscure topics The guide includes materials of interest for undergraduates, graduate students, academic researchers, and educated general readers
Women's Diaries, Journals, and Letters by
First Published in 1989. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Do an Advanced Keyword search in the library catalog for your topic and combine it with bibliography in the subject field. The term bibliography appears in multiple places in catalog records, looking for it in the subject field will limit your results to resources that have been identified as bibliographies.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.