Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

U.S. History

This guide provides useful print and online resources to help people doing research in the History of the United States of America, defined broadly.

Home

About

Welcome to the U.S. History Guide. This guide provides links to the most useful tools and resources for researching U.S. History. Use the tabs on the left to navigate through the pages of this guide.

*General history databases, resources, instructions for finding primary sources, and help on citation can be found on the History Guide.

Navigation

Books - find books on US history
Articles - find articles on US history
Reference and Bibliographies - background sources, print and online bibliographies that list resources on a particular topic

Primary Sources: 18th c. and earlier- includes colonial life and Revolution
Primary Sources: 19th c. - includes U.S. history of enslaved peoples & Civil War
Primary Sources: 20th c. - includes World War I, World War II & Vietnam

Primary Sources by Topic - resources organized by topics related to the American experience (ex. revolutions, Native American History, African American History, the Gold Rush)

Primary Sources by Type - resources organized by type (newspapers, images, maps, oral histories, et al.)

Additional Resources - digital humanities projects related to U.S. History; professional organizations associated with the study of U.S. History

New Databases

U.S. Studies Librarian

See also

This research guide was adapted from resources found on these U.S. History Libguides: UC Berkeley, NYU, Boston University, Cornell, Hunter College

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.