The Mainichi Shinbun is one of the 3 major Japanese newspapers and Japan’s oldest daily newspaper. This database provides the following: Mainichi Shinbun (1872-); Weekly Economist (1989-; images in reduced size edition are available from 1989-1999); and The Mainichi (English) (2008-; interface is only in Japanese). One can also browse today’s news and breaking news.
Digital archive covering the entire history of newspaper publishing by The Yomiuri Shimbun in Japan. The archive’s sections are packed with helpful features. Yomidas Rekishikan contains more than 15 million articles since its first issue in 1874. It contains articles from every issue. Access includes access to The Yomiuri Shimbun (読売新聞), The Japan News, and Contemporary Who's Who (現代人名録). Please Log Out when done.
Dates of coverage vary (see More for details). Unlimited users.
Provides access to Asahi Shinbun newspaper articles from 1879 to present. Includes the full text of Asahi Shinbun from 1985 to present, Shukan Asahi and AERA, Asahi Shinbun reduced size facsimile from 1879 to 1989, contemporary dictionary Chiezo, Who’s Who database, and historical photo archive. Read the introduction to learn more.
Updated regularly. Provides access to various reference sources, including dictionaries (Japanese, English and multi-languages, such as the Dictionary of Synonyms in Japanese), encyclopedias (Encyclopedia Nipponica, Encyclopedia of Japan, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, etc.), other Japanese reference works (biographies, maps, chronologies, etc.), full text Tōyō Bunko and Shūkan Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist), and other visual and sound databases. Also includes its sub-series: 日本歴史地名大系 and 国史大辞典.
Updated regularly. Provides indexing to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Merges data from various composite periodical indexes by Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan.
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
