LibGuides: Japan Studies Guide: Finding Articles

General Full-Text and Index Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
1971 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. Includes citations to western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs (before 1992), chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Corresponds in part to the print Bibliography of Asian Studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Journals: Updated as issues are published. Project MUSE is a leading provider of humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, with complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Books: Selected titles from university presses and scholarly societies. All content from the print edition of the book is included in the digital edition. There are no DRM restrictions.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Japanese Full-Text and Index Database

CiNii Articles
CiNii Articles covers modern and contemporary articles in academic journals published in Japan, based on several databases and indices. You can limit your search to those available in full-text (本文).
IRDB (formerly JAIRO)
Joint search for participating institutional repositories. It provides full-text for many materials, including theses and dissertation, journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, etc.
国文学論文目録データベース | Kokubungaku ronbun mokuroku
Provides citations and indexes for articles related but not limited to Japanese language, linguistics, literature.

Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shusei Detabesu 雑誌記事索引集成データベース This link opens in a new window
Updated regularly. Provides indexing to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Merges data from various composite periodical indexes by Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan.
J-STAGE (Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic) 科学技術情報発信流通総合システム This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
J-STAGE hosts digital and digitized academic journals, academic society bulletins and research papers from Japan. Japanese or English interface.

Current Print Journals in Japanese at UTL

Please see the spreadsheet below for a complete list of print journals at UTL. The file can also be accessed here.