Japan Studies Guide

The Japan Biographical Database (JBDB) is a database aimed at accumulating information on historical figures related to Japan.

Digitized collections from various archives on topics of Japan's relations with neighboring countries in modern history. 国立公文書館、外務省外交史料館、防衛省防衛研究所から、デジタル化されたアジア歴史資料（近現代における日本とアジア近隣諸国等との関係に関わる日本の歴史的な文書）の提供を受け、データベースを構築してインターネットを通じて公開しています。

In total 42 sub-collections. Topics range from premodern to modern eras, including both Japanese and non-Japanese materials.

Web search portal for the Kyoto Institute, Library and Archives. The institute is formerly known as the Kyoto Prefectural Archives. Its collection include medieval manuscripts, administrative archives, literature, images, and catalogues from the Museum of Kyoto 京都文化博物館. Only items publicly available on the internet are searchable.

It searches the Meiji-era newspaper and magazines in Center for Modern Japanese Legal and Political Documents at the University of Tokyo. 東京大学大学院法学政治学研究科附属近代日本法政史料センター明治新聞雑誌文庫が所蔵する明治期〜昭和戦前期（1868〜1945）の新聞・錦絵新聞・宮武外骨蒐集資料（外骨書函）・吉野作造旧蔵資料（吉野文庫）などの所蔵情報を検索するためのデータベースです。
For more about how to use and request copies of the collected materials, see http://www.meiji.j.u-tokyo.ac.jp/.

This digital collection contains mostly premodern titles. Topics and genres include shindo, literature, diaries, etc.

The Digital Archive of Documents on Japanese Foreign Policy is a digital archive created and maintained by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The time coverage spans from the Meiji era to the end of WWII. Users have to install djvu extension to view the documents.

"A project of Harvard University’s Reischauer Institute of Japanese Studies, the Japan Disasters Digital Archive (JDA) is an evolving, collaborative space for citizens, researchers, students, and policy makers, as well as a site of shared memory for those most directly affected by these events. The digital archive is an advanced search engine for archived materials from all over the web, including websites, images, video, audio, news articles, individual testimonials, tweets, and other content, primarily from international partners who are building digital repositories about the disasters."