LibGuides: Japan Studies Guide: Art

Where to Find Images

Cultural Japan
Cultural Japan is an aggregator database that aggregates and searches across museums, libraries, and archives.
Bunka Digital Library
A digital archive mostly of materials related to various Japanese performing arts.
ARC Kotenseki Portal Database
An aggregating database that searches pre-modern Japanese books available online.
eMusuem - e国宝
This site provides high-definition images of the National Treasures and Important Cultural Properties owned by the Tokyo National Museum, Kyoto National Museum, Nara National Museum, Kyushu National Museum and the Nara National Research Institute for Cultural Properties aligned under the National Institutes for Cultural Heritage, together with their descriptions in multiple languages (Japanese, English, Chinese and Korean).
National Museum of Japanese History Web Gallery 国立歴史民族博物館 WEB ギャラリー
An online gallery of select items in the National Museum of Japanese History's collection.

Select Collections of Japanese Art in North America

For a more comprehensive list of notable collections of Japanese materials in North America, please visit the Resources Beyond UT page on the left

Harvard-Yenching Library's Visual Finding Aids
The site allows you to look through some of the notable items in the Japanese collection of Harvard-Yenching Library. Items include woodblock prints, maps, scrolls, and postcards, etc.
Mary A. Ainsworth Collection of Japanese Prints - Oberlin College
The collection has more than 1,500 Japanese print from the 17th to the 20th centuries.
Manga Collection at The Ohio State University
Ohio State has the largest collection of manga outside of Japan.

Film/Video materials

Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
An online streaming video collection of nearly 600 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. Offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection curated by film scholars and critics, viewers can explore the impact of globalization and urbanization on people’s everyday lives throughout the greater Asian region. Twenty-four countries across the region are represented, with a strong concentration on China, India, Iran, South Korea, and Southeast Asia.
Docuseek Complete Collection: 4th Edition This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
The Docuseek Complete Collection (4th edition) provides exclusive educational streaming access to over 2000 important documentaries from renowned distribution leaders, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, dGenerate Films, Women Make Movies, GOOD DOCS, Collective Eye Films, First Run Features, National Film Board of Canada, KimStim, European distributors First Hand Films, AndanaFilms, Cinétévé, and new producing and distributing partners 371 Productions, Lightdox, Autlook, Dutch CORE, Ideas Roadshow, and other participating filmmakers and distributors. This collection will include 3000 titles by December 2026.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
This streaming service has a catalog of over 30,000 titles covering various educational topics and feature films for some 800 producers including Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education, California Newsreel, PBS and others.
Titles streamed by Kanopy are available either directly from the library catalog or from the UT Kanopy interface linked above. Some titles on the UT Kanopy interface are not immediately available to UT community for streaming. Those titles for which we do not hold streaming rights could be requested by filling in a request form. This form would appear on your screen and forwarded to a staff member for consideration. Given our limited funds, we emphasize study and research needs when making purchase decisions.

Japanese Film Resources Online
Aggregator search portal for film materials in Japanese institutions.
JFROL（Japanese Film Resources Online）とは、映画資料所在地情報検索システムです。シナリオ、ポスター等のノンフィルム資料の所在地（所蔵館）を横断的に検索することが出来ます。研究用資料の調査、展示会のキュレーション等にご利用いただけます。

Understand IIIF

IIIF is a way to standardize the delivery of images and audio/visual files from servers to different environments on the Web where they can then be viewed and interacted with in many ways.

Learn more at https://iiif.io/get-started/.

Related Guides

AAH Core Program
by Tina Tran Last Updated Jul 31, 2024 56 views this year
Art and Art History
by Tina Tran Last Updated Sep 4, 2024 1515 views this year
Art Education
by Tina Tran Last Updated Sep 4, 2024 132 views this year
Collecting and Provenance
by Tina Tran Last Updated Oct 18, 2023 293 views this year
Comics & Graphic Novels
by Gina Bastone Last Updated Aug 12, 2024 1211 views this year
Ellsworth Kelly's Austin
by Tina Tran Last Updated Jul 30, 2024 79 views this year
Greek and Roman Art
by Claudia Fuentes Last Updated Jul 31, 2024 75 views this year
Health Humanities
by Gina Bastone Last Updated Sep 5, 2024 1543 views this year
Images
by Tina Tran Last Updated Aug 15, 2024 538 views this year
Images on JSTOR
by Tina Tran Last Updated Oct 3, 2023 61 views this year
Visual Resources Collection on JSTOR
by Tina Tran Last Updated Jul 31, 2024 149 views this year
Zines
by Tina Tran Last Updated Aug 19, 2024 11857 views this year