Briscoe Center Guide to Civil Rights and Social Justice Materials

The Briscoe Center's library collection is cataloged as part of the University of Texas at Austin library system, which includes the collections of the primary University of Texas at Austin libraries and several of the affiliate special collections libraries like the Harry Ransom Center and the Benson Latin American Collection. The catalog includes all books, e-books, newspapers, recordings, and scores owned by the UT libraries and can be an important resource in locating research material. 

More information on accessing the University of Texas at Austin library system will be available in the Accessing Our Materials libguide. 

The books listed below represent a small selection of topics in our collections. 

• Bradley, David and Shelley Fisher Fishkin. The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America. E 185.61 E544 1998. 

• Branch, Taylor. Parting the Waters: America in the King Years, 1954-63. E 185.61 B7914 1988. 

• Carawan, Guy and Candie Carawan. We Shall Overcome! Songs of the Southern Freedom Movement.  M 1629 C2 W4. 

• Cole, Thomas R. No Color is My Kind: The Life of Eldrewey Stearns and the Integration of Houston, Texas. TXC-ZZ Collection F 394 H89 N426 1997. 

• Egerton, John. Speak Now Against the Day:The Generation Before the Civil Rights Movement in the South. TXC-ZZ Collection E 185.61 E28 1994. 

• Farmer, James. Lay Bare the Heart: An Autobiography of the Civil Rights Movement.  TXC-ZZ Collection E 185.97 F37 A3 1998. 

• Fleishman, Stanley and Sam Rosenwein. The New Civil Rights Act: What It Means to You. 323.4 F628N. 

• Gilmore, Glenda Elizabeth. Defying Dixie: The Radical Roots of Civil Rights, 1919-1950. HN 79 A13 G54 2008. 

• Graggs, Charles R. Is It Hatred or Is It Fear? TXC-ZZ Collection TZZ 301.45196 G759I. 

• Grant, Joanne. Black Protest: History, Documents, and Analyses, 1619 to Present. TXC-ZZ Collection E 185 G75. 

• Hampton, Henry, Steve Fayer, and Sarah Flynn. Voices of Freedom: An Oral History of the Civil Rights Movement from the 1950s through the 1980s. E 185.61 H224 1991. 

• Hill, Herbert and Jack Greenberg. Citizen’s Guide to Desegregation: A Study of Social and Legal Change in American Life. TXC-ZZ Collection TZZ 371.971 H552C. 

• Jones, Carolyn L. Volma--My Journey: One Man’s Impact on the Civil Rights Movement in Austin, Texas. TXC-ZZ Collection F 394 A99 N46 1998. 

• Kunstler, William M. Deep in My Heart. TXC-ZZ Collection KF 373 K8 A3. 

• Lavergne, Gary M. Before Brown: Heman Marion Sweatt, Thurgood Marshall, and the Long Road to Justice. LC 212.722 T4 L38 2010. 

• Library of America. Reporting Civil Rights. TXC-ZZ Collection E185.61 .R47 2003. 

• Madigan, Tim. The Burning: Massacre, Destruction, and the Tulsa Race Riot of 1921.  F 704 T92 M33 2003. 

• Meredith, James. Three Years in Mississippi. TXC-ZZ Collection LD 3412.9 M4 A3 1966. 

• Peck, James. Freedom Ride. TXC-ZZ Collection E 185.61 P43. 

• Reid, Debra A. Seeking Inalienable Rights: Texans and their Quests for Justice. F 395 A1 S44 2009. 

• Roberts, Gene and Hank Klibanoff. The Race Beat: The Press, the Civil Rights Struggle, and the Awakening of a Nation. PN 4888 R3 R63 2006. 

• Schulke, Flip. He Had a Dream: Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Civil Rights Movement. TXC-ZZ Collection E 185.97 K5 S37 1995. 

• Sherman, Max. Barbara Jordan: Speaking the Truth with Elegant Thunder. TXC-ZZ Collection TZZ E 838.5 J6735 2007. 

• Tucker, Sterling. Black Reflections on White Power. TXC-ZZ Collection E 185.615 T82 1969. 

• Vincent, Gregory J., Virginia A. Cumberbatch, and Leslie A. Blair. As We Saw It: The Story of Integration at the University of Texas. LC 214.23 A97 A7 2018. [Not at Briscoe?] 

• Williams, Juan. Eyes on the Prize: America’s Civil Rights Years, 1954-1965. TXC-ZZ Collection KF 4757 W52 1988. 

• Young, Whitney M. To Be Equal. TXC-ZZ Collection E 185.61 Y73.