Briscoe Center Guide to Civil Rights and Social Justice Materials

Manuscript collections are collections of paper record, photographic material, physical artifacts, and other items used to document the history of a specific individual, group, or organization. These materials are generally created or gathered by the individuals, groups, or organization. These materials are generally created or gathered by the individuals, groups, or organizations over the course of their life time and can include items such as correspondence, financial and legal documentation, business records, family histories, scrapbooks, and newspaper clippings. The collections listed below are a partial listing of collections.

• Alli Aweusi Collection, 1969-1995 (20 feet) - contains speeches, interviews, and slides dealing with the Black Panthers and other movements.  
• Ada Collins and Marcellus J. “Andy” Anderson Papers, 1923-2003 (26.5 feet) - documents the lives and interests of Ada and Marcellus Anderson in relation to their real estate enterprise, Ada’s work with the Austin Lyric Opera and Leadership Enrichment Arts Program, and the activities of both Andersons in Masonic organizations, political and civil rights campaigns. 
• Juanita Jewel Shanks Craft Collection, 1939-1983 (2 feet, 6 inches) - consists mainly of the accumulated pamphlets, newsletters, and reports issued by the NAACP and other agencies described in the series and includes a small amount of personal correspondence, papers, and Dallas NAACP activity documents. One particular item is a Dallas Youth Council scrapbook, prepared in the late 1950s. 
• James Leonard, Jr. and Lula Peterson Farmer Papers, 1908, 1921-1999 (46 feet, 1 inch) - documents the Farmers' professional and personal activities including their involvement in the U. S. civil rights movement. Correspondence, minutes, financial records, and other materials relate to the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), the civil rights organization James Farmer founded in 1942. 
• Field Foundation Archives, 1940-1990 (242 feet, 3 inches) - documents the wide-ranging list of movements and groups the foundation supported as well as the foundation's role as an active participant in social change. Individual files on each grantee provide insight into such civil rights groups as the NAACP and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, and persons involved in the movement including Martin Luther King, Jr., Thurgood Marshall, James Farmer, and Cesar Chavez. Children's rights and welfare groups, such as the Children's Defense Fund, also are documented in the records. Operation of the foundation is well documented in the board minutes, correspondence, and personal records. 
• Freedom Riders Press Photographs Album, circa 1960-1975 (1 photograph album (67 photographic prints) - consists of 67 press photographs related to the civil rights movement. The majority of images show participants in the Freedom Rides, as well as police and federal officials connected to the rides. The photographs show events in Jackson, Mississippi, and Montgomery and Birmingham, Alabama. 
• Burt Gerding Papers, 1959-1980, 1994 (8.5 feet) - document the activities of the Austin Police Department during the tumultuous period of the mid-1960s to early 1970s.  
• Henry B. Gonzalez Papers, 1946-2015 (498.75 feet) - papers documenting Congressman Gonzalez’s years of public service as an elected official on the San Antonio City Council, the Texas State Senate, and the U.S. Congress, though the bulk of the records document his tenure as U.S. Representative from Texas (1961-1998). 
• R.C. Hickman Photographic Archive, ca. 1945-2005 (approx. 20 feet) - consists primarily of 4” x 5” film negatives created during Hickman’s professional career with the Dallas Star Post and the Express. The archive also features Hickman’s freelance work for Jet magazine and photographs documenting school segregation for N.A.A.C.P. court cases. 
• Calvin Littlejohn Photographic Archive, ca. 1948-1993 (63 feet, 5.5 inches) -  black and white and color negatives, proofs, photographic prints, mounted slides, correspondence, business records, and artifacts document the life of Black people in Fort Worth and Tarrant County during the mid-20th century as well as the post-war portion of Littlejohn’s career in photography. 
• James “Spider” Martin Photographic Archive, 1948-2014 (20 feet) - Ranging in date from circa 1948 to 2014, the James “Spider” Martin Photographic Archive documents the career of Alabama photojournalist Spider Martin. The archive covers a variety of subject matter including the civil rights movement; Alabama businesses; portraits; and state politiciansGeorge Wallace and Don Siegelman. 
• Richard M. Morehead Papers, 1903, 1922-1995 (51 feet) - Correspondence, newspaper and magazine clippings, literary productions, reports, speeches, pamphlets, periodicals, books, photographs and programs comprise the Richard M. Morehead Papers, 1903, 1922-1995, documenting his personal and professional life. Included are newspaper clippings of articles by Morehead, classified research files of clippings and other printed material related to education, school integration, civil rights, race relations andblacks in Texas and the South, primarily after the 1954 school desegregation ruling from the U. S. Supreme Court. 
• Jack Newfield Papers, 1910, 1932-2005 (bulk 1964-2005) (195 feet) - Newspaper clippings, correspondence, notes, legal documents, drafts, manuscripts, galley proofs, diaries, appointment/date books, annotated books, audiovisual material, and photographs comprise the Jack Newfield Papers, 1910, 1932-2005 (bulk 1964-2005), and document Jack Newfield’s career as an investigative journalist and author. 
• Paul B. Ragsdale Papers, 1959-2006 (42 feet) - consists of classified files assembled when he was state representative from Dallas (1973-1986). 
• Robinson (Frank J. and Dorothy Redus) Papers, 1970-1980 (1 foot, 5 inches) - Newspaper clippings, correspondence, flyers, certificates, photographs, and audiocassettes illuminate the lives of Frank J. and Dorothy Redus Robinson, their efforts in the civil rights movement in East Texas, and Frank Robinson's death. Papers document racial tensions and civil rights activities in East Texas during the late 1960s and early 1970s. 
• Flip Schulke Photographic Archive, c. 1947-2007 (circa 300,000 images) - Ranging in date from circa 1947 to 2007, the Flip Schulke Photographic Archive features a wide variety of subject matter, including Schulke’s work documenting the civil rights movement as well as his underwater and space flight images. Also included is a portfolio showing the Berlin Wall during the early 1960s. 
• State of Texas vs. NAACP Case Records, 1911, 1945-1961 (6 feet, 3 microfilm reels) - The State of Texas vs. NAACP Case Records, 1911, 1945-1961, document the 1956-1957 lawsuit that, in effect, outlawed the NAACP in Texas until the 1960s and also reflects the progress of the civil rights movement from the late 1940s to the 1960s. Collection bulks with courtroom proceedings, including oral testimonies, pleas and petitions by the plaintiff and defendants, and the court's rulings.  
• We Shall Overcome Civil Rights Summit Recordings, April 8-10, 2014 (5 inches) - consist of 9 DVCPro and 2 DVC Pro HD recordings of the summit, as well as a hard drive. 
• Ransom and Sarah Williams Farmstead Project Records, ca. 1920s-1960s (3 in. paper; 300 digital files (34.65 GB)) - consists of oral history sound recordings, photographs of the interviewees and their families, research files, family tree diagrams, and project documentation. 
• Ralph W. Yarborough Papers, 1836, 1844, 1911-1988 (ca. 1400 feet) - comprised of newspaper clippings, correspondence, legislative records, campaign materials, speeches, press releases, research files, financial records, audiovisual recordings, photographs, scrapbooks, invitations, and maps, which document the life and political career of U.S. Senator Ralph Yarborough.